Families logo

Lily Love

A mother's passing brings joy from Lily Puggle.

By Sue McGaugheyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
13
Lily Photo by: Sue McGaughey

Mom was always vivacious and full of life. She loved to dance, play cards and socialize with friends. When she danced, her eyes lit up and there was a smile so big you couldn’t help but smile back. She loved to watch sports and was known to bet on a game or two. She was always alive, until she wasn’t. Mom passed away in 2010, it was then that my life changed in more than one way.

I was in church saying goodbye to my 22 year old niece who had suffered from mental illness and took her own life. My cell phone kept buzzing but I ignored it so I could be present at the funeral services. I was distraught and just couldn’t understand what happened. My sadness was overwhelming. Returning home, I finally listened to my voice messages. There were several telling me my mom had been found unconscious in her home and rushed to the hospital. Not long after, I boarded a plane and headed across the country to the other coast to go to the hospital. No one seemed to know what had happened. Mom eventually came to and within a few weeks she was diagnosed with colon cancer. They gave her a very short time to live. I spent over a month going back and forth to the hospital. I had left my own family back on the other coast so I could be with my mom. I spent countless time, money and energy flying back and forth. My family knew I was mentally drained.

After mom passed away, my children decided to surprise me. The surprise was huge, because I always said I did not want a dog because it was too much trouble raising one. That’s right, the kids bought me a dog. A cute little Puggle we named Lily. At first I was a little upset, but the first time little Lily climbed in to my lap, we bonded like glue. She had the most precious honey brown eyes, caramel colored fur with white and the most love to give. I fell in love on the spot. It was like she knew I was in pain from losing my niece and my mom back to back. Lily Puggle made my heart feel love and happiness again. Each day with her made my sadness melt away little by little. Not only had the loss of loved ones caused me great emotional disturbance, so did Lily, as she took away my broken heart and mended it with her love.

Lily and I became best friends. She started sleeping on me, near me and with me. If I was cooking in the kitchen, she was right next to me just waiting for a crumb to fall. If I went to the bathroom, Lily would wait patiently outside of the door. If I left the house, when I returned she would always greet me at the door so excited and wagging her tail. When she looked up at me with those honey brown eyes, my heart just melted. Ironically, we had the same exact colored eyes. It was like we were soul mates. I never really had to train her much, instead I just talked to her and demonstrated certain things I needed her to do. It was like I could just talk to her as a friend and she responded. I kept thinking to myself, “wow, she’s a super smart dog”. Puggles are known for being loving, people dogs. It turned out to be true. Lily gives as much love as she can. She is still with me today. We are as bonded and close as ever. She’s like having another child to raise.

I will never forget the day Lily Puggle came into my life. My own children and husband wanted to do something to lift my spirits. They knew that I was very sad and needed time to process and heal from everything I went through. They thought, “What better way to bring more joy and happiness into the household, than to have a dog.” My children were so excited to bring the new puppy home. I had not even seen the puppy yet. The kids did everything with their father, then surprised me when they brought Lily home. That day was filled with joy, happiness, excitement and love. It was as if I had given birth again and brought another sibling into our home. Lily was such a wonderful addition to our family. She chewed many shoes and pieces of furniture in the beginning, but eventually she learned the rules. She brought and still brings so much love to all of us. I can’t bare the thought of losing her one day, but when the time comes I will have so many wonderful memories. Memories of love, silliness and companionship. The one memory I will cherish forever is the very first day she entered my life. Lily eased the pain of losing my mom and began her journey with me and the family. Having her is like having a rainbow that materializes after a storm. The best memory I could possibly ask for is and always was her arrival into my life. Although losing my mother left a huge void in my heart, Lily jumped right in there and occupied the void. My mom would have loved her.

Written by: Sue McGaughey

grief
13

About the Creator

Sue McGaughey

I worked 24 years in special education primarily doing behavior management. Writing has always been my passion. I was lead writer for a Lifestyle and Entertainment magazine for 8 years, until they closed during Covid.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Irene Mielke2 years ago

    This story is so sad, yet so detailed, of the human experience. I'm sorry for your pain. *hugs*

  • James M. Essig2 years ago

    This is a very moving account and endearingly sweet. As a Catholic, I can assure you that your niece is in the glorious company of the angels and Saints and Jesus. The Church prays for those who have taken their own lives. This is perhaps the best essay I have ever read about the kind warmth of our canine friends. Dogs are truly best friends of the families they belong to. I think this essay should receive top award. I encourage all folks who are grieving to consider having a pet dog. Dogs are supersensitive and have an understanding of when is the right time to snuggle up next to their owners. Best; Jim

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.