Families logo

Let the kids create

Painting activity

By Sadia KhanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
White tablecloth on the wall and let them paint away

Kids being home for this long is never on any parents list- we all want to stay occupied! Have them learn and have things to do for ourselves- until this happens! And we realize how crazy it is to come out of our comfort zone and do something new...like stay home without our own will. It’s boring...it’s tiring....it’s frustrating...

Since the situation is getting worst...teachers started sending daily emails with online/ offline work, reading and writing projects...it’s so hard to get Zoha to sit down and focus. She can see her two siblings don’t have much to do...she wants to have fun with them...she has so many games planned to play with Zyva!

Yesterday specially was very tough...everytime I sat her down to finish off something she whined and cried...Got hungry or thirsty and then we start again ..I was getting so frustrated! I myself have seasonal allergies so my stuffy nose and headache are no fun!! I wanted to run away....seriously! But us mothers don’t have the luxury to use the bathroom let alone runaway lol.

So by 4pm I had enough....I was about to yell my brain out...hubby came into the family room from his 100th meeting ....I looked at him...he held my hand and told me to go upstairs for a bit and relax! I quietly went to my room,.grabbed my phone and sat on the bed...this was the first thing I read shared by a friend:

“Parents: be aware of your words. I know schools closing is a big inconvenience and brings on stress. However it’s effecting your kids and their routine too. Don’t let your kids hear you are dreading them being home for so many days. Don’t let them feel like a burden to you. You are their world and their safe place. Give them love...give them grace...spend time with them, play games and talk to them! They sense your fear and frustration...this is hard on them too! “

I felt so bad...I felt like I am failing to be a mother...I am supposed to play a few roles at this time- teacher, mother, nurse, friend, and a punching bag. They are missing their teachers, friends, activities...they are missing their normal days!

And then this embarrassed mommy came up with an amazing idea!! And stole those little hearts once again.I took a shower, did my hair, wore a nice outfit...came downstairs...went in the garage where my party supplies stay...pulled out unused table covers (disposable ones). Taped them all over the wall...the girls looked at it and excitement started to build up...I gave them hugs and told them to use their imagination with washable paint.

This was a hit and I am back to being the best mommy in the world! This mural was up for weeks, we slowly painted and enjoyed our masterpiece, even took a nice family photo with it as a background.

The next month we painted our own mini jars and labeled them “gratitude jars”. Now every evening after dinner we sit and talk about what we are thankful for and make notes and keep them in our individual jars. On the weekend before bed we take out and read those notes. It helps so much and kids actually do feel thankful with all the blessings we have.

And in between we started another routine of “silent Sam”, each of us take 20 minutes and close our eyes and rest our brains. It helps me specially, I get a little break of peace and quiet until we start again.

-Sadia Khan

Mommy of Z kids

California

**Check out my other stores of keeping toddlers busy. I write regularly on Mommy of Z kids on Facebook and Instagram.

children
1

About the Creator

Sadia Khan

I am a blogger at Mommy of Z kids on Facebook. Also have a website: www.MommyofZkids.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.