Families logo

Leaving The Nest

A short story escaping abuse

By R J BriarPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
Leaving The Nest
Photo by kevin laminto on Unsplash

When I realised, I would never be safe in this town. Trapped in a home where I didn’t want to be in. Every room was full of relatives, my auntie with her husband and two children. My parents with me and then my grandparents crammed into a Victorian five-bedroom house.

I somehow got caught up in a terrible situation with a group of older men and wouldn’t leave me alone. No matter what I did to keep hidden. They kept on finding me. They did not care what time it was in the night or if I wanted to go to school that day. I was powerless against them.

I begged my parents to move to somewhere we could call home again. But they were unwilling. Even when I told them what awful things, they did to me. They all saw was a troubled child and got punished for not knowing any better. All I wanted was to be safe and have a normal childhood like most children my age. My feelings were minimised and overlooked. It made it feel invisible and empty like I had no voice.

Some days, I barely wanted to be alive. I wanted to end everything. I didn’t want to deal with the pain I was carrying deep inside of my heart.

Who would love someone that has been tainted by so many men?

I was jealous of my friends, having parents that listened, good friends and having relationships with boys their age. Where they didn’t pressure them to do anything. I kept on thinking about I wasn’t a normal girl, that something was badly wrong with me. I carried those thoughts for many years to come.

When I turned sixteen, I make one of the biggest decisions of my life. Since I could not rely on the adults that were meant to protect me from harm. I started to plan a way out. They all laughed at me saying it was going to be much harder when I left and being in the real world. But I was not going to give up that easily. I had a few setbacks, saying I was too young or I’m safer at home from agencies. But I kept the pressure on.

It took over a year trying to find a safe place to live. Somehow managed to pass all my subjects at school when I was still dealing with these horrible men. It wasn’t the grades I wanted but it was enough to get into college.

In the summer holidays, I received a phone call from a hostel in another town. All my hard work paid off. I was in my grandparent’s kitchen telling everyone I was leaving, no one didn’t seem too bothered, and I started to pack my items.

I was out within a few hours with a short goodbye to my parents. All my belongings were in two black bin bags since I did not own a suitcase. I got on the two buses to my new place since it was late in the evening. To the new place, I called home for the next few months.

After dropping my bags off in my room. The place wasn’t much, but it was a fresh start away from my grandparent's house. I had a bed, a fridge, and a wardrobe to put my items in. I had a bit of money on me, so I bought some food and a few toiletries when I found the local supermarket. It was a brand new start for me.

It was hard at first, especially when I did not have much money in the first month. I adjusted and learned how to be independent. Paying bills, budget, and how to take care of myself. Which no one taught me beforehand.

I was happy that I could not hear my grandparents shouting about something. Or another relative coming over and had them shout at me for being troublesome. I could make my dinner anytime I wanted; I could get things that I would like to eat.

But the best thing was that I no longer had to deal with the calls or random knocking at night requesting my company. For the first time in my life, I felt safe and could sleep well at night.

I moved a few times due to outgrowing the places I was in and felt like I needed to take the next step forward. But within a year. I was in a serious relationship with someone that did care about me, I had a real home to call my own.

If I stayed in my grandparent’s home, I would not be alive today. I would have never held my daughters in my arms or have experienced the moment when you fall in love with someone for the very first time.

parents
4

About the Creator

R J Briar

A mother living in the North of England with two daughters. In a relationship with a geek in the Midlands.

You will be finding me catching up on sleep, being a raging feminist and eating sweets.

Tips are appreciated :)

Instagram @rjbriar

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.