Families logo

Kristen's POV

Chapter 3

By Steph MathePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

"ANSWER ME!" I yelled as I ran over to Kailey's seem to be, lifeless body. "What did you do to her?" I asked as tears began to roll down my cheeks. John and her mother were completely quiet. I looked up at them only to see that they were in utter shock. "Did you guys do this?" I asked, almost screaming. "We didn't mean too." Her mother said, "she was being so disrespectful and she was cursing at me, and then one thing led to another." She explained. "I don't believe you," I said as I looked around the room only to see Kailey's phone leaning against the door. I crawled over to it to call for some help and saw that someone was already on the line. I looked back and saw that they were watching me, so I got up and told them that I'll be right back. "Okay," they answered, almost in sync. I went outside to talk to the person who went by the name of Aunt Chelle. "Hello?" I said. "Hi, what is going on? Is she okay? Who is this?" She asked, with complete fret flooding her voice. "I'm her best friend, Kristen. No, she's not okay...she's unconscious. I have to call the cops. I can't leave her any longer up there with those people." I said, almost ready to click the end button. "Alright, I'm gonna take a flight. I'll text her phone, let me know if anything else happens." She says. "Okay, gotta go!" I said as I hung up and called the cops. I waited patiently for them to answer. "Hello, what is your emergency?" The guy on the other end of the phone asked. I quickly told him what I saw and the address of the house and then hung up. I quickly ran upstairs only to see them standing in the same position, staring at Kailey. "What are you guys just standing there for?" I asked in utter anger. Not a word came out of their mouth. I shook my head and sat on the floor next to her as I pulled her up to the point where her head can rest on my lap. I stared at her as I began to cry. "Everything is gonna be okay. I promise" I whispered and continued to cry. Shortly after, I heard the sirens. I was so happy. In just two point five seconds, two men ran up the stairs taking Kailey away from me. I got up and ran down the stairs with them. As I was walking out of the door, another man stopped me. "Hey, miss. How are you?" He asked. "Not so good, her mom and her fiancé are upstairs. I'm pretty sure they did this. Hurry!" I said while wiping my tears, and off he went and another one followed behind him. I continued on my way to the ambulance truck and sat in there with Kailey and the doctor. It almost felt like years went by before we finally reached the hospital. Everyone was moving so fast; almost like a movie scene. I tried to keep up with the doctors. While they were quickly running into the emergency room, I received a call. It was Chelle, Kailey's Aunt. "Hello?" I said "Hey, I'm in New York. What hospital am I meeting you at?" She asked "Brooklyn Hospital. See you soon!" I said in response, "See you soon." She ended the phone call. I locked my phone and continued to the ER that Kailey is in. The door was closed, I couldn't go in. I slid against the wall and began to cry. "How can one hurt someone this bad without any remorse? And then try to lie and get away with it!! I cannot believe this, she's done nothing wrong!" I exclaimed to the old lady right next to me. She looked at me as if I were crazy and walked away. I concealed my head into my knees and continued to cry. Only about twenty minutes passed by before I heard someone whisper my name in an unsure tone. I looked up only to see a pretty lady with long beautiful hair, who almost resembled Kailey. From there, I knew she had to be Aunt Chelle. "Hey, you made it!" I said as I got up and walked over to her. "Of course! How are you, honey? Is everything okay?" She asked as she pulled me in for a hug. "I don't even know. She's in that room, they wouldn't let me in, though!" I said, almost about to cry. "Why would anybody want to hurt someone as sweet as her? She did nothing wrong, I know she didn't." I continued. "Hey, hey!" She said as she gently pushes me back and holds on to my shoulder. I looked down because I didn't want her to see me crying. "Look at me, Sweetie." She said as she gently pushed my chin up, "don't cry, she's gonna be okay. Trust me. She's a fighter, she's strong. We just have to have faith!" She explained as she wiped my tears. "Okay? Just have faith." She concluded. I nodded my head and smiled at her, "Just have faith." I repeated. She nodded with a half-smile. And together, we waited until someone allowed us to finally see her. Thirty minutes have passed and Chelle and I fell asleep out of nowhere. We were sleeping across the room that Kailey was in. My head was rested upon Chelle's shoulder while she used the wall to rest hers upon. "Excuse me?" An unfamiliar voice spoke. We didn't answer. "Ladies!" He said again. Chelle and I slowly woke up as we realized that we were sitting on the hospital floor. "Uh, hi." Chelle said, "Hey, are you guys here for Kailey Miller?" He asked. "Yes," Chelle and I said in complete sync. We looked at each other and then Chelle continued, "uh, is she okay? Can we see her?" "She's fine. You guys may go in, she's waiting." He said with a smile. We smiled back and continued into the room. There she was, smiling at Chelle and me. "I knew you guys would come!" She said with excitement. "Aunt Chelle, I missed you!" She said as she opened her arms for a hug. Chelle walked over at a fast pace and fell into her hug. They both laughed as Chelle said how much she missed her as well. "Kristen, come here!" She said as she let one arm out to invite me into a group hug. I smiled as I walked over to her and fell into her arms. "I'm so glad you're okay! We were worried sick about you!" I said as I hugged them tighter. "I know, I know. But, I'm okay now. That's all that matters!" She smiled. "You're right." Chelle said, "you're completely right." Suddenly, silence began to overpower the room. It wasn't an awkward silence though, it was more like a calming silence. Shortly after, the hugging was done and the silence was broken. "Where are they?" Kailey asked, almost wishing that she hadn't. I didn't know what to say, so I looked over at Chelle. "Well, we don't know, honey. But they don't matter anymore..." Chelle said, "Why would say that?" Kailey asked, curiously. "Well, because...um, she's not... " her voice died out As she looked deeply into Kailey's eyes, "forget it, there's just no need to worry about her or her fiancée anymore. You're moving to Florida with me." Chelle concluded with complete hesitation. It almost sounded as if she was hiding something and she wanted us to catch on. "She's not...what?" Kailey asked with complete confusion flooding her voice. "She's just not important anymore, Kailey. She doesn't matter. You're living with me now." Chelle exclaimed. I looked over at Kailey and saw how confused she was. "Oh, okay," Kailey said, giggling. "Well, when can I leave? I don't wanna stay here anymore." She continued. "We can leave right now, get your clothes on," Chelle said. My eyes began to water because I realized that I was losing the only person that felt like a sister to me. "I'm gonna miss you, Kailey," I said, as I walked over to her and hugged her. "I'm gonna miss you too, don't worry though. You can come to visit sometimes, right?" She promised as she looked over at Chelle for assurance. "Yes, of course." Chelle said as she walked over to me, "I'll see you soon, honey. Don't worry!" She continued as she hugged me. Suddenly, the door opens and we all looked back, assuming that it would be the doctor but we were rudely mistaken.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.