Families logo

The Dream

She felt so empty, confused, betrayed, and alone. All she wanted was some closure.

By Steph MathePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1

"AAHH!!!!" I yell as I hop out of my sleep with bunches of sweat streaming down from my face. I looked around only to see my mom standing at the doorway. I wheezed at the sight of her. "What is wrong with you? You woke me up, you know." She said with an irritable tone. "I'm sorry, mom. Just a terrible dream." I said. "Yeah, well go back to sleep. I don't wanna wake up to the sound of you, once more." She said as she exited, slamming the door with every ounce of force she had in her body. I let out a huge sigh and laid back down as I attempted to forget about it. Soon After, I began to slowly fall back into my slumber without a bad thought going through my mind. It was entirely forgotten. The next morning, I woke up to the sound of my mother's voice. "Yes, Thank you!" She stated to the person on the other end of the phone. I could only wonder what she was saying "Thank you" for. While attempting to come up with an explanation as to why she'd be saying Thank you, I almost forgot about having to meet my father at the bus station. I looked over at the clock and realized that I only had twenty minutes left to get ready before I was too late, I guess I can say that my mother was just my alarm. As much as I didn't want to go, I quickly got out of bed and got ready and before I knew it, I was already out the door. Finally, as I arrived at the bus station, where he was. I beeped the horn so I can get his attention and as soon as I did, he quickly made his way over to my car. "Hi, Kailey." He says as he occupies the passenger seat. I stared at him as my eyes started to water. The sight of him brought me back to the past. I shook my head and whispered, "Why did you want to see me?" In confusion. "I thought you said that you never wanted to see me again... why?" I continued as tears began to roll down my cheeks. He didn't have one answer to give me, so I continued. "I wrote you letters, hoping that you would talk to me. I asked you so many questions, why didn't you write back? Dad, I needed you. I needed you way more than I thought I did. Why couldn't you be there for me?" I stared at him for clarification. "I don't know, Kailey. I don't know. "Seriously? " I paused and looked at him until we made eye contact, and continued, "You know what, I had a dream last night. It woke me right out of my sleep, I screamed. You know what it was about?" I asked him. "What?" He replied in concern. "You and the look on your face when you didn't even help me that night. I screamed for your help, Dad. Why didn't you help me?" I asked as I sobbed at the unwanted images of that night. "I'm sorry." He said in distress, "I wanted to help, but I just couldn't." "Why not?! You're my father! As a child of yours, you were supposed to do everything in your power to see if I was alright. Do you know what you did? ...Do you remember, dad? You left me and the last thing you said before you left was that you never wanted to see me again as if it were my fault for what happened that night." I mentioned, as my crying turned into yelling. "Look, I don't want to talk about this, right now. Stop!" He said with utter anger. "I'm sorry for what I did, Okay? I'm sorry. Could we move on from this and enjoy our day?" He asked. "Enjoy our day? Are you serious? Dad, I don't even think I wanna be with you at this moment. Can you give me some time, please?" He looks at me with such a painful look and the only thing I was able to do was to look down with utter sadness. "I'm sorry, Dad. But I cannot deal with this right now. I thought that I'd be able to see you again after finally getting over it, but... I just, can't." I continued as I looked at him for confirmation. "I understand..." He responded in a gloomy tone, "Do you promise to call me whenever you're ready to talk?" He asked with a strong hope in his voice. "Yes, Dad. I promise." I said in return as he pulls me in for a hug. "I love you, okay? Please, remember that." He continues as he pushes me back gently and cuffs my face. "I'll try," I answered, as my voice began to crack while I tried to hold my tears back. He leans in to kiss me on my forehead and makes his way out of my car. He looks back and says "See you soon." And continues to walk away before I can even answer back. I watched him depart as he began to shrink more and more; the farther he got. I sat back and thought to myself, trying to understand if letting him go was the best thing that I could've done. I question myself if he meant it; that he was sorry. I thought and I thought and the flashbacks started to creep back into my mind. The images were so unbearable that tears began to pour down my cheeks. I couldn't understand why he thought that leaving me that night was okay. He says that he loves me, but how little can one love someone to leave them at their weakest moment? I troubled myself, trying to figure out an answer. I began to give up, little by little when I finally came to a decision and thought that it'd be best that I go back home and try to forget about today. As I approached my driveway, I saw the last thing that I wanted to see today; My mother's Fiancé's car. I forgot he had plans to move in today. I swear, my day couldn't get any worst. To my surprise, as soon as I stepped onto my porch to reach for the doorknob, a flashback of him was thrown right into my face. I stopped right in my tracks and tried to get rid of the unwanted images of the past. As soon as I was able to get past it, I walked in only to be greeted by him. "Hey, Kailey. How are you, honey?" He said with a fake welcoming smile. I roll my eyes and continue to make my way over to my room. Before I can place my foot on the first step, my mother decides to greet me as well. "Kailey?" She walks over to me "I didn't see you walk in. Hey, Sweetie." She continued as she went in for a hug. I shook my head at the amount of fake love blooming in the air and turned around to continue my little journey up to my room. As I'm walking up the stairs, I can hear them mumbling things about me, So, I roll my eyes and slam the door behind me and fall directly on my bed; flat on my face as I begin to cry. I wanted nothing more but to fall asleep, and never wake up again. Finally, as I felt myself falling into my slumber, my phone started to ring. I looked at it and saw that It was my best friend, Kristen. "Hey," I said with an utterly gloomy tone. "Hey...Uh, are you okay?" She asked with concern drowning her voice. "I'm fine," I said, trying to hide the fact that I'm pouring my eyes out. "I don't believe you," she said in response, "I'm coming over, right now." She said as she clicked the send button before I can let a word out. As soon as she hung up, I quickly got up, wiped my tears, and turned the television on, just to pass some time. About fifteen minutes later, I heard a knock on my bedroom door. It was Kristen. "Hey, your mom let me in. She told me that you've been in here ever since you got back home. Is everything okay?" She asked as she made her way over to my bed and took a seat right next to me. "Yeah, everything's alright," I said, hardly convincible. She looked at me as if she knew I was trying to avoid the conversation. I thought for a second and thought it was time for me to let someone know what's been happening. So, I turned and faced her and from there, I began to tell her. "So, last year... I was with my dad and my mother's boyfriend; at the time. His name is John." "Okay... And?" She said in response, waiting for me to continue. "And, he was drunk.." I tried to continue but before I could, Kristen cut right through before I could finish my sentence. "Who?" She said in complete confusion. "John" I continued, "He was drunk, and so was my father. But, my father wasn't as drunk as John." I stopped in the middle of my sentence and started to cry at the thought of that night. She pulled me close and gave me her shoulder to cry on. "You don't have to talk" she whispered, "It's gonna be okay, Just let it all out. I understand" she continued, barely trying to hide how hurt she was at the thought of what might've happened that night. "Why me?" I ask rhetorically, trying to find a possible answer. She continued to rub my back, in an attempt to comfort me, but it wasn't working. "Thank you for coming by...I needed this." I said as I stood up from her arms, "But, it's getting late, I think you should go home." I suggested. By the face Kristen had on, it showed that she didn't want to leave but she agreed that maybe some time alone was all I needed so, she hugged me and said "you're gonna be okay." And out the door, she went. I looked at the time and read Six-Thirty. "Damn, where the hell did the time go?" I asked myself as I quickly jumped out of bed and went right into my bathroom. A nice long, warm shower was all that I needed. Twenty minutes later, I grabbed my towel as I stepped out of the shower and threw my nightclothes on. As I tried to fall into my slumber, I heard an unfamiliar bang against my door. "Come in," I said as I waited for the person to show themselves. The door opened and in he came. My eyes grew so big and my skin began to crawl.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.