Families logo

It’s Time To Add My “Family and Children” Niche To The Mix

As They Say, "Write About What You Love," and I Love This Niche.

By Tammy S.Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
It’s Time To Add My “Family and Children” Niche To The Mix
Photo by Trevor Vannoy on Unsplash

As you can see, I like to post a variety of topics on here and on Vocal Media. Some of my content offers advice based on my experience (i.e., "Six Things I've Learned As A Freelance Writer"), while other posts are more personal or random (i.e., "Let Me Tell You About My Favorite Band"). I'm sure other topics will be added to the mix over time.

But now, the gears in my head are turning. I'm thinking it's time to add topics related to one of my freelance writing niches into the mix --- "Family and Children."

I've always been a very family-oriented person. I love spending time with my family; going to the park or watching a movie. You see, I come from a big family; 4 siblings, in-laws, nieces, nephews, etc., and while we all drive each other crazy, I still wouldn't trade the time I spend with them for anything.

Additionally, I've had experience working with children since junior high (so, the late 90s). In my state (and I'm assuming other states as well), you need 30 hours of community service before graduating from high school. I don't know if that's still a requirement today, but it was when I was in school. My Momma was a substitute teacher and friends with the principal and staff, so on my half-days of school, I was able to volunteer in classrooms, and I enjoyed it.

Throughout my teenage years, I occasionally babysat my nieces and nephews. After high school, I was basically a live-in nanny for two of my nieces for several months. Years later, I worked as a substitute teacher for a bit. Actually, I shadowed my Mom a few times before officially substituting on my own to get a feel for the job.

In addition, I worked in what I called convention child care (or temporary child care). Basically, it was designed for meetings, trade shows, conventions, etc. Parents who needed to attend or work these events could sign their children up for child care.

I also attended community college for a semester to obtain my 90 Hours of Preschool Training (which means I'm certified to work in child care) back in 2008.

Finally, my Mom and I babysat my best friend's son 4 to 5 days a week for the first few years of his life. We'd rotate so that I could work on my freelance writing orders, but it definitely added to my experience. When he was in the midst of switching daycare centers (enrolled to prepare him for regular school), we started watching him again. At one point, we were also watching two of my nieces near his age. All three of them are in school now (ages range from 9 to 12, so it was a bit ago), so I only babysit them occasionally and as needed. Mom is no longer with us, but I help my sister babysit them as needed, as the girls' 6-year-old brother is now part of the group, lol.

So, when you pair my family-oriented personality and experience in working with children, the "Family and Children" niche is a no-brainer. I've written articles and blog posts in that niche for clients, and I've always enjoyed it.

I think it's time I started adding that niche to my Medium and Vocal Media content. So yes, there will be a mixture of topics on here, but you're also going to find content related to my niche on here as well.

And to be honest, I look forward to adding my niche to the mix. I enjoy writing content on family fun night ideas, teaching children responsibility, and kid/family-friendly attractions. And you know what they say... write about what you love. :)

I published the original version of this story on another platform. You can find the link to the original version here: https://medium.com/@tammys_85/its-time-to-add-my-family-and-children-niche-to-the-mix-dc55343f52aa

extended familyimmediate familychildren
Like

About the Creator

Tammy S.

Welcome to my corner of the writing world! This is a place for me to share my thoughts, feelings, advice, niches, and life.

My Linktree: https://linktr.ee/tswriter85

Profile header by Chimene Gaspar from Pixabay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.