Families logo

Introducing a special woman I loved dearly

My grandmother

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Verna S. Kessler, 100, of Roanoke, passed away Monday June 2, 2008, when the angels came and took her hand and took her home to her Lord. She is preceded in death by her husband, Boyd Kessler, and stepson, Sherman Kessler. Mrs. Kessler was a member of Belmont Christian Church. She is survived by her sons, Julian Lynwood Hinchee and wife, Carolyn, of Vinton, and Lawrence Edward Hinchee Sr. and wife, Wanda, of Blue Ridge; stepsons, Richard Kessler and Raymond Kessler, both of Vinton; five grandchildren, Lawrence Hinchee Jr., Angela Hinchee, Ricky Hinchee, Timothy Hinchee, Brian Hinchee; four step grandchildren, Beverly Bean, Sherry Moore, Barry Dickerson and Lisa Toney; nine great-grandchildren; nine step great-grandchildren; two great great grandchildren; and three step great-greatgrandchildren. Graveside funeral services will be held at 10 a.m. Wednesday, June 4, 2008, in Evergreen Burial Park with the Rev. Bobby Harris officiating.

What can I tell you about Verna? A lot actually. She was my grandmother. I was her first born grandchild and also, her favorite. She lived in the world with only a third grade education. She could squeeze a penny until Abe's head bled red. She kept me in shoes most of my life and I seemed to be at her house more than at home. She was a very good woman and a wonderful grandmother to all her grandchildren. Her father was also a Confederate officer. He fought with Robert E Lee's unit.

I stayed with my grandmother after the army. She wouldn't take money for rent or groceries from me when I lived there. I went to college while I lived with her.

I helped take care of her after she broke her hip, the first time. My son was her first great grandchild. My oldest granddaughter was her first great granddaughter. She was tickled pink when she saw her. You could see the love shining in her eyes as my son laid her in his great grandmothers arms.

I eventually left Virginia and went to South Dakota for college. I then moved to Denver to take a job in the airline industry. I stayed there until 2004 and moved back to Virginia. While living in Denver my grandmother said she had prepaid her funeral. She asked if I was coming to her funeral. I said Granny, if I have to walk from Denver, I will be there.

My father called me on a Saturday night and told me that she wasn't going live past Sunday night. Luckily for me, I worked for Frontier airlines and was able to take U.S Air home for free. I arrived Sunday night around 1130 pm. When I arrived at the hospital it was shortly after midnight and she was unconscious. Fifteen minutes after we left Verna passed. She had waited in my opinion to see if I would really show up. The pastor sang her favorite song by the Gospel Plowboys, "The Old Ship of Zion."

The rest of the family cleared out of the room so I could have my time with my grand mother. I walked over and grabbed her hand, then kissed it. I looked at her face, she was at peace. I kissed her forehead and said, good by sweet princess, I will miss you. I stayed with her a few minutes longer. I turned and left, I was at peace. I had kept my promise and my grandmother knew I had. A grandparent knows the difference of each grandchild's touch.

I think about her from time to time and I think of something that she would say and smile. I also when feeling down start missing her. RIP Verna Kessler.

grief
1

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.