Families logo

Inspired by My Twin Sister's Legacy

Life at the Best moments

By MS.Jenkins@the vipwatchesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
My twin sister and I , middle sister and my step Dad
  • My name is LaDoya Jenkins. My twin sister and I are the oldest of five girls. we were born and raised in Clarksdale, Missississippi. During our later teen to early adult years, we later moved out of Mississippi for a better quality of life. We were raised in extreme poverty. The small town we grew up in was very unique. The main reason why because people in the community were very close to each other and caring about one another. The neighbors looked out for each other's kids. My family was well known in this community because our family was very hard working. They worked as grocery store clerks and in customer service etc. One of my aunt's name Leatha worked at a bakery that was well known for good customer service and the doughnuts were delicous. Poverty was a huge struggle in this part of the community. It was so bad until when my family worked it seemed to put us a step backward. We never seemed to have enough basic supplies such as food. There were times my sister and my cousins would knock on neighbors' doors and ask for food. The neighbors were so nice and showed us a lot of love and support. They would go into their freezers and give my sisters, cousins and I food. The food would be already cooked and frozen. Sometimes it would be fresh cooked left overs from their evening supper. Growing up in Misssissppi people showed each other alot of love and support. There were families that lived in certain parts of my community that shared with the less fortunate families. This was great. These families were privileged. Our household was very strict with a strong religous values and faith- filled foundation. My sisters and I were taught to ask if we needed anything. We were raised with strong morals and values. My family took us to church every Sunday. I later understood why they were so strict as I grew older in life. They were teaching us to grow up and show love to each other and to others in society who were sometimes looked, or were different than us. Respect for God and ourselves and others were taught, my family taught us to believe that education could get us ahead in life and work hard. Life has moments and times that will surprise us. Sometimes it's very unfair situations that happens. Unconditional love can solve a lot of problems on this earth. I try to focus on what is going well in my life each day. Family members are one of the greatest to be thankful for. Life can never be replaced with anything. The cost of human life cannot be placed with a price on it. Because I can face another day, I live to write about my life and find therapy for my soul to heal. The kind of hurt and pain I feel losing my twin sister is unexplainable. Our family and I lost my twin sister in a very tragic way on July 8,2020. We will never get to see her live the next chapter to fight cancer and win. Hate is a very strong dynamic word. If you have been inspired by my writing Please feel free to show your support by taking a look at my website called thevipwatches.com. Feel comfortable just log in and look around.

grief
Like

About the Creator

MS.Jenkins@the vipwatches

  • I am an inspiring passionate writer,analytical and crtical

thinking writer. I write to also entertain my audience to stimulate the mind and see beyond the challenges and obstacels that life sometimes will put in our path.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.