Families logo

In With The Old

A Thanksgiving to Remember

By Viv CPublished about a year ago Updated 11 days ago 6 min read
Like
In With The Old
Photo by Sweta Meininger on Unsplash

My heart climbed up my throat with each step I took towards the door. I had wanted Tevin to pick me up for us to walk in together. We had been dating for 9 months and I would be meeting his family for Thanksgiving. We agreed to split the holidays since we were getting pretty serious. We would be gathering at my family’s house in December. If we made it past this.

Why did I choose heels? Just as that thought left my head, I tripped on their top cobblestone doorstep. My ankle twisted and I fell on the door. The sound of the triple thud of both hands and head hitting the door rang out in the quiet neighborhood. As I was halfway getting up, the door swung open.

I knew her from the pictures Tevin had shown me. Her short full frame darkened the doorstep. The face she made, had me even more mortified. I stood up straight, eye to eye with her and plastered a welcoming smile on my face.

“Can I help you?” she asked smugly.

The air around her was “better” and her face told me she thought “less” of me before even knowing me. Strong sturdy steps came from behind her, and Tevin towered over her.

“Mimvi! So happy to see you!”

He made his way around her, but I still saw her eyes crinkle. I saw her look from Tevin and back to us as he hugged me. His arms around me, I saw her top lip meet her nostrils. She was not impressed.

Tevin took me around his parents’ home introducing me to his aunts, uncles, cousins, and siblings. For the most part, everyone seemed to like me. But my guard was up from the looks his mother gave me. She was in the kitchen with his two aunts and female cousins/siblings sitting at the table. The men went out back to smoke, drink, or whatever they do. We live in the south, so manners are our core.

“Mrs. Violet, would you like some help?” I asked his mother.

I could feel the ladies at the table attention go to me. One aunt hugged me and said I should sit at the table. That the experienced ladies had it. His mother never said a word. His eldest sister fixed me a drink and I sat next to her. They discussed their relationship dealings as I stayed silent.

His mother was speaking to the aunts, but I could hear.

“Angela is coming by later on.”

“That is nice,” one aunt replied. “But you think that is appropriate?”

“She has been a part of this family for years. Doesn’t matter that Tevin decided to move on” His mother made air quotations when she said move on.

I knew the name Angela. Tevin’s ex-fiancé. They were together for five years. Only reason they broke up was because she cheated. And got pregnant. And he would have stayed. He said that in the beginning, but she wanted to be with the child’s father. He assured me that he was over her when we started dating though. Yet here she was. Still invited to the family functions.

“What you think about that?” His eldest sibling whispered to me.

“I am surprised, but I guess I shouldn’t be worried.”

Less than thirty minutes later, there was a knock at the door. When she walked through, it was like Beyonce walked in. Everyone, and I do mean everyone ran to greet her. I could see the appeal. She is the total opposite of what I look like. Tall, fair skinned, curly long hair and the slimmest waist, and thick thighs. She was gorgeous. I held my own, but I saw the appeal. Her two-year-old was not in sight.

This Thanksgiving was pulling out all the stops. Tevin was one of the last to greet her, but I watched. The smile. The hug. The complete interaction. I got up and stood beside him. Her hazel eyes slid to me, questioning.

“Angela, this is Mimvi. My girlfriend. Mimvi, this is Angela.”

She greeted me with a pleasant smile. Her eyes assessing. But we both was cordial. His mother made her sly remarks.

“Some people don’t care about their weight.” I am plus size.

“Darker skin doesn’t look good in every cooler.” Me wearing bright orange.

“He hasn’t been serious with anyone since you, Angela.” My goodness.

Game time was going well. Except for the last game. I was placed on a team with Angela and Tevin’s mother. They were thick as thieves. I felt so out of place. My emotions were becoming a tidal wave of despair. Not once did Tevin reassure me or ask me if I was ok. But he had things going on. I am sure he cared about my feelings.

After Angela’s turn, she stood in the center of the floor a second too long.

“Girl, you good?” His eldest sibling asked.

“Um, yeah. I just. I wasn’t expecting today to have the audience that it has.” Obviously, me. “But there is something I wanted to you, Tevin. All of you really.”

Tevin stood up and walked over to her. She was visibly shaking. As was I. His sister reached over and rubbed my back. My thanksgiving was feeling like it was hijacked. I watched him hold her hands. Reassure her as tears fell from her eyes. My emotions were a beyond a tangle of insanity as I watched someone I had fallen in love with, console his ex.

“I..this will be hard. And I hope you all understand. I know it was hard when I cheated on you. And when I left. I was young, I was confused.”

He shook his head. Like it was no big deal.

“I messed up. I recently took a paternity test because Tyson’s father and I split.”

I saw the sweat build up on Tevin’s face. Everyone was on the edge of their seats. His mother came up beside him and rubbed his back. Aside from his sister, no one was reassuring me. It was if I was not there.

“The results came back a few weeks ago. I didn’t know how to tell you. Truly, I was only with you and Tevin’s father. I know it is scandalous.”

“Hush Angela, everyone makes mistakes. Tell us,” his mother said.

“Tyson is your child, Tevin. We can do another test to confirm, but it is true.”

Tevin stumbled back for a bit. One of his uncles came up beside him to hold him up.

“Angela do not lie to me again. Are you serious?”

“We can take the test, but I assure you there was no one else. Tyson has to be yours.”

My world began to slow and spin the other way. I watched his family once again, embrace and reassure her that she would always be welcome. That they would take the test and if Tyson surely were Tevin’s, they would welcome them both open arms. He hugged her tightly. My boyfriend of 9 months embraced Angela as if they never ended.

I sat there on the verge of tears, feeling alone. I watched one of the worst thanksgivings go up in hellfire. What in the hell would I do now?

extended familyfact or fictionfeaturepregnancyimmediate family
Like

About the Creator

Viv C

Hi, loves. The human connection and intimacy are so pure and beautiful. Writing is my passion and there is nothing else I would rather do in this life. Read my blog here, www.illitica.com. Doing the Divine's work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Noooo! This was a rollercoaster to read, well done!! But what an awful holiday! :(

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.