Families logo

If I Could Turn Back Time

If Only.....

By Melania J.L.Published 3 months ago 3 min read
3

If I Could Turn Back Time

If I could turn back time, oh, how different things would be. The regrets weigh heavy on my heart, like stones dragging me down into the depths of despair. If only I had known then what I know now, perhaps the course of my life would have been altered, shaped by the wisdom gained through years of trials and tribulations.

I close my eyes and I am transported back to a moment etched into the fabric of my memory—the day my mother fell ill. If only I could whisper into the past, urging her to seek the medical attention she deserved, perhaps she would still be here beside me, her laughter echoing through the halls of our home. But alas, time is a cruel mistress, and no amount of wishing can turn back its relentless march.

My mind wanders to the days of my youth, filled with innocence and naivety. Oh, how I wish I could go back and shake my younger self, imparting the wisdom that comes with age and experience. I wish I could tell her to live her life boldly, unapologetically, without giving a damn about what others think. For it is only in embracing our true selves that we can find genuine happiness and fulfillment.

Instead, I allowed myself to be swayed by the opinions of others, seeking validation in the fleeting approval of my peers. I wish I had pushed myself more with great dedication in school, pursued my passions with unwavering determination. Instead, I squandered my potential, content to coast through life without ever truly challenging myself.

Oh, how I wish I had been braver, stronger, more resilient in the face of adversity. I wish I had stood up for myself, refusing to be cowed by those who sought to tear me down. But fear held me captive, its icy grip constricting my every move, leaving me paralyzed in a state of perpetual insecurity.

And yet, even as I yearn for a chance to rewrite the past, I know deep down that such wishes are futile. Time marches ever forward, indifferent to our desires and regrets. I cannot undo the mistakes of yesterday, nor can I change the course of events that have led me to this moment.

But amidst the regrets and longing, there is a glimmer of gratitude—a recognition of the strength and resilience that have carried me through life's trials. There were times when I faced difficulties head-on, overcoming obstacles with determination and grace. And in those moments, I felt a sense of pride—a pride in my ability to handle whatever life threw my way.

I know that my mother would be proud of me, proud of the person I have become despite the hardships I have faced. And as I reflect on the journey that has brought me to this moment, I am somehow grateful for the life I have lived—the joys and the sorrows, the triumphs and the defeats. For it is through adversity that we grow, and it is through struggle that we find strength.

So, while I may never be able to turn back time and rewrite the past, I can choose to embrace the present with courage and gratitude. I can choose to live the life i wanted, living life to the fullest, facing each day with resilience and determination. And in doing so, I can find solace in the knowledge that she is alwayswatching me, guiding me with her love and wisdom as I navigate the journey ahead.

griefadvice
3

About the Creator

Melania J.L.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I know we all wish for a re-write at times, but not sure that it wouldn't make the outcomes even worse, somehow...

  • Tina D'Angelo3 months ago

    Ah, but you can change the past for others who read your words. Our past mistakes are not for nothing. What we learn and pass on to those facing the same problems is invaluable information. Kudos!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.