Families logo

I’m not seven anymore!!

My littlest sister and best friend

By Sarah urfferPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
My sister and family

my little sister is the best! Now she wasn’t always the best that’s what little sisters are for. She’s my best friend and we shared a lot of silly times together. From her crying wolf after hitting her self trying to get her way and running to my mom to tell her “what happened” then laughing at me when she wins. I helped raise my little sister for when she was a baby till she was old enough to run her around on her own. I would rock her to sleep with my awesome singing voice and swing movements while feeding her a bottle a warm milk.

Little kids are so cute and her little daughter looks pretty much just like she did when she was a child . Now my sister is about 11 years younger then I. Around her seventh birthday I moved and became part of the Marine Corps. And this brings me to my inside joke. Though all this time in past every time I saw my sister or talk to my sister for some reason I kept forgetting she got older. For Several years I assumed she was still seven. She always looks so young and back then she was still so tiny even though she had grown a bit taller to me she was seven.

By Levi Meir Clancy on Unsplash

Every year I would come back and visit or talk to her on the phone I just kept forgetting that she too was growing. Almost like I didn’t want to except the fact that she wasn’t going to be a child forever. She was so sweet and cute every time I saw her to sleep as a baby. And even when before I left she would want to hang out with me in my room and was swearing at me she wouldn’t “rat me out” to mom or dad for some of the things I shouldn’t of been doing. I always told her you shouldn’t do this and I am bad for doing it. She would always inform me that she would never do that, whatever that may have been.

My little sister in front of dad and some of my siblings

So despite all the years that pass by after I joined the Marine Corps. I will continue to call her seven and she would continue to get frustrated at me every time I call her seven. I’m pretty sure five years of gone by and she was eleven by the last time I had called her seven. So now after many years have passed by we still joke about how she’s only seven. When she turned twenty one And was going to go to the bar we laughed and said good thing I’m not seven. And any other time she did something silly she’s like well I’m only seven.

Me Virginia lanie and ness

We traveled in 2018 to Northern California where we stayed in the redwood forest. Me Virginia my little sister her adorable daughter who at the time was only one year old, my other sister Vanessa also another one of my best friends. On this trip we had many laughs about her being just seven. They had some things there that if you were young enough you got to do it for free. Being she was always seven she thought why not me. I’m only seven she said Sarah I should eat for free.

I’m pretty sure it was seven years that she was seven in my mind until she couldn’t take it anymore. She flipped out and said I am not sending any more Sarah! With many more exclamation marks and I’m sure some curse words.

She just got married on September eleventh of this year. And all I could do was smile and laugh about how far she’s come in since seven. Seven was an extremely long year that seemingly never ended. But not she has her beautiful life she worked so hard to build with a loving husband and an out of this world perfect fun adventures daughter. I’m so happy for this silly little girl who’s come along way since seven!

Thanks for reason my inside joke about my silly forgetfulness of my sister ever getting older. She’s not seven anymore but still somehow seven at heart. We laughed good at the wedding about her being seven all over again as she danced the night away living life to the fullest.

siblings
2

About the Creator

Sarah urffer

Let words find you with a fun and playful creativeness.

I have some older works I’ll be adding including new creations as well. I do hope you enjoy them. I wish there was a feedback section 😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.