Families logo

AITA for yelling

Child put in danger

By Sarah urfferPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
2
AITA for yelling
Photo by Mikael Seegen on Unsplash

OK this is just a rant for clarity really also, am I an asshole for yelling. what happened was something that there was no other response in my mind. To me I had to yell at this level of complacency. When things regard my infant son, who’s nearly 13 months, maybe I might be a little protective or maybe what I did was completely justified let me just run you through my morning.

My son got to sleep just before 1 AM. (He fights sleep like it’s his business). I still have some things to clean up so I went to bed later. I couldn’t fall asleep on our bed as to my boyfriend, sleeping on the bed and wouldnt move over. So before 7am, he woke up two different times each time waking me up (just to fuck with me) while I laid on the couch sleeping. The second time I got off the couch and went to the bedroom where he was no longer sleeping. Our son at the time still sleeping so I went back to sleep.

At short bit before 9am our son wakes up. He moves them onto the bed with me and goes to get him a bottle and then walks away. Therefore I have to be awake and feeding him. He’s just out on the couch on his phone. So I asked him can you please come in here and take him and feed him so I can get some more. Mentioning again that he woke me two times earlier. So he eventually take some out of the bedroom. I’m trying to get back to sleep, and then I need to go to the bathroom.

I have never been more relieved to have to go to the bathroom then I have ever been stepping out of the store and turning my head seeing my infant son alone in our bathroom, leaning onto the tub. It’s like a terror nightmare because he could’ve been seriously hurt and I could’ve had to call poison control because our bathroom isn’t child safe. It’s a bathroom no child should be in a bathroom unattended. And the bathroom door should’ve been closed and he was supposed to be out here watching him.

I yell For him WTF! What the heck are you doing? Where the heck are you and he still did not even come around the corner. We have a long hallway. If it wasn’t for my urge to go to the bathroom, my boy would’ve been in this bathroom alone, and then I would’ve most definitely heard the cries of an injured baby. Or worse had to call poison control because of the toilet stuff and poison ivy things that I have easily reachable. Now I’m sleep deprived and terrified about what just transpired. So I start yelling at him what the fuck were you doing? Why weren’t you watching him? Why did you leave the door open?

In my mind, if I were the person, being complacent and watching my son, and he was alone in the bathroom, and my partner found that when he walked out of the room, I would expect to be yelled at because there is no reason that that situation shouldn’t even transpired. But apparently I’m the asshole because I’m yelling at him for what he just did. Or the lack of what he just did. He’s always drinking and even this morning he finished the better half of a 12 pack and it’s not even 930Am.

So I really wanna know should I not have yelled at him? Should I have somehow found a way to calm myself down in my worry about my infant?

Am I the asshole like he says I am for berating him? If this was your son and your partner, did this, would you also yell at him or would you do something else?

We just moved in and I haven’t had time to baby proof the bathroom never did. I anticipate our son ever being in there alone at this point in time. I legit cannot get back to sleep. This is a serious issue for me and he’s trying to justify it.

advice
2

About the Creator

Sarah urffer

Let words find you with a fun and playful creativeness.

I have some older works I’ll be adding including new creations as well. I do hope you enjoy them. I wish there was a feedback section 😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    The short answer: no. The long answer: Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

  • Oh s#&t! This is serious. You had every right to yell, given the described circumstances. I think your instincts are telling you what more you need to do, too. Hopefully, you have trustworthy, responsible family or friends you can trust to babysit AND not harm your child in any way. All children deserve loving protection. My prayers are with you and your baby. 💙🙏💙

  • Yelling one time doesn't make you an AH. A pattern of behaviour, that could be unhealthy, and there's usually a better way to deal. But if yelling makes you an AH, we are srelt all AHs.

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Personally, I feel your SO is the a-hole. Drinking before noon? Sounds like he has an alcohol problem. Maybe you shouldn't have yelled, but you are a young mother who is sleep-deprived and stressed out, caring for a young child. And it sounds as if you are mostly doing it alone. Then, for him to childishly wake you up not once but twice. Honey, he's a jerk for doing that.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.