Families logo

A Growing Surprise

Life within at 36

By Sarah urfferPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
A Growing Surprise
Photo by Xavi Cabrera on Unsplash

Life comes with many surprises, some of which were nearly impossible to come at all. A blessing in disguise what a scary change with a lot of responsibility. Life has a way of giving gifts you’ve never asked for. Shocking still when the chances were extremely low.

When I was in the fourth grade, I had an extremely bad case of appendicitis it ruptured inside and reeked havoc across my body. I was septic 100% and also gangrenous with very little time left to live. I had a very invasive surgery and was lucky to make it to the end of the day and beyond. The doctors did a wonderful job saving my life. Yet also unknown to them was the damage caused my reproductive organs in the process of saving my young life.

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

A week after my surgery I was up moving around like nothing ever happened. Of course I couldn’t move and do everything like before hand, due to the massive incision that still needed time to heal and drain. I play kickball with my siblings and someone else would run for me since I was unable to. A lot of gross things came out of me and yet still was a blessing that I survived.

My mother was watching some show in which they had just really discovered E. coli bacteria disease. As she recalled before I had gotten sick, we had eaten cheeseburgers from McDonald’s. Immediately she begin to think I had E. coli and tried rushing me to the doctors. I have been home for two weeks the second week I had not been able to move or eat just drink from the fruit pops that were attempting to come my high fever.

By Meghan Schiereck on Unsplash

When she prompted me to put my shoes on I kept telling her I could not bend to reach my feet. At this point she was like Sarah stop horsing around and put your shoes on. And again when I said I cannot reach my feet she came in and saw me attempting and I could not bend it was excruciatingly painful. It was at that point she knew it was not E. coli. Upon rushing me to the pediatric center they immediately saw me and began pressing on my abdomen. I remember belting out in pain it was excruciating having my abdomen pressed upon.

The look upon the doctors face was a worry I have never seen a doctor as he looked upon the other nurses he said contact the emergency room or sending over a child with severe appendicitis. The doctors still at this point did not realize how bad it was. I remember getting the IV and then wheeling me into surgery and having me breathing and count to three. The doctors rushing about in a hurry to save my little life.

By Ocean Ng on Unsplash

I woke up hours later in a room with nothing but a clock no one in sight. I had no idea what to think different room and I heard nothing but the ticking of this clock. Unknowing to me at the time it had been over an hour since I was already supposed to wake up. My family has been told that I might not wake up and they were told how bad the infection was in my body. It was the early 90s and it was a full invasive surgery. Everything was inflamed and covered with infection so it was quite hard for the doctors to see everything going on inside.

These wonderful doctors saved my life that day, an unknown to them they did cut my Fallopian tube. I healed up quite well and lived a normal life never quite knowing what else was going on inside all these years. Until about 2016 when I had to go to the hospital again and agonizing pain to find out all my lymph nodes in my torso were swollen. I’ve been a painful weekend with no sleep and no release of the pain. They did MRIs and CAT scans Which led them to finding the top of the mass that had been forming inside my broken fallopian tube.

By lilartsy on Unsplash

It was about the size of a large grapefruit when they found it and it baffled everybody on how I wasn’t in pain before this. It was a year later until I could get it removed and at this point it was the size of a cantaloupe all within my fallopian tube severed inside of me. The surgery was done with this new robotics laparoscopically buy two wonderful doctors. These doctors cleaned up a lot of the damage done from my appendicitis surgery. In the process of locating my one ovary that I’ve been fused to the backside of my uterus and repositioning my other fallopian tube and moving my other ovary so both could use the one tube.

I should also mention but up until this point I had maybe two periods a year for most of life. I was pretty sure I just wasn’t very fertile, though the doctors did inform me the both my ovaries were perfectly intact and almost preserved due to the lack of periods. Still it wasn’t like everything went back to having a normal woman experience. I thankfully saved a lot more money than most women, not having to buy products every month. The doctors were not sure but I really could get pregnant without assistance not that I was ever really going to try.

By Joey Thompson on Unsplash

Here we are the end of 2021 finding out on my birthday I am with child. It’s a shocking thing to find out when not planning or even expecting this sort of thing to happen. But here we are the miracle has happened regardless of my wants. I still don’t know how everything will continue to progress. How much more pain I will feel more than others due to the adhesions an additional scar tissues inside my body. It’s going to be quite a ride coming from impossible to happening. Life growing inside me at 36 scary new I prepare for this mysterious great change life gifted me with.

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Sarah urffer

Let words find you with a fun and playful creativeness.

I have some older works I’ll be adding including new creations as well. I do hope you enjoy them. I wish there was a feedback section 😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.