Families logo

I had no choice to do it.

Dad in nursing home

By Terri RosallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I had no choice to do it.
Photo by Francisco Gonzalez on Unsplash

I have one of those days that I should have stayed in bed. You know that the one that you are going to feel sad all day.

Well, today was my day to be sad.

I had to break a promise to my dad was not to put him into a nursing home. I had no choice but to do.

I hated this choice that I had to make.

In my mind I know that it is right choice for him

It was a promise that didn't want to break.

He has been more and more harder to handled.

It is choice that no child should have to make.

He can't take care of himself anymore. He needs this help I must tell myself.

It feel so sad just leaving him there. I think that he knows that it was the right choice for him. He has also been there for me all my life.

It is a trip that I must make every week to see him. I just can't go to the house see him anymore. A house that was filled with memories that my family made.

There were only a few boxes that he needed to take. They were things that he needed and love.

Pictures of us and clothes for him to wear and other things he needed.

But I know that he has the memories in his mind of a happy house to kept him warm and safe for now.

It was a promise that needed to be broke. I hope that he doesn't hate me for this. I hope that he understands this is for the best for him.

Please not hate me dad. This is the best for him.

It looks like a nice place for him to be at. I know that he will make friends and hope that they like him also.

It has a park where he can go with this walker to get fresh air. My mind keeps on saying don't hate me for this broken promise that I did.

You are getting older and I still love you the same way I did as a small child when we walked the railroad tracks or in the park on the weekends.

I hope that you are making friends. You have always been a friendly person. I would what things you will do with your new friends.

Again my mind is saying please don't hate me for putting you there. It is choice that I didn't do in rush. I like at other places that you might have like to live in but I wanted one close to me just like that house was close to me.

I need to see you still. I will always need to see you.

Tonight is you first night there and wonder what your day was like. I can't call you because can't he the phone ringing anymore because your hearing is gone. What you have for lunch and dinner? Did you meet some new friends today?

Your legs weak and you need a walker to walk with now. I wonder if you having trouble getting around your new place with the walker.

I know that you are watching your favorite television or maybe you unpacking your things to make your new place your place.

I hope that you have sweet dreams and have a good day tomorrow. I will see you soon to take the boxes away that had your things in them. I know that will need other things for your place. I have the list made out to get them to bring them to you tomorrow.

Just remember that I love you daddy.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.