Families logo

I am a girl mom

i now have a son

By ChristinaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
I am a girl mom
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

July of 2021, the month I had been waiting for since the day I found out that I was pregnant with my now 7 month old son. A part of me was convinced that it would be another girl as I already have 2 wonderful daughters so I was pretty adamant that the results would again be Team Pink.

Some say that life is full of surprises, i came to truly believe that saying after i had my first born, becoming a mom is a trip, i couldn’t have imagined what having a child, let alone a little girl would be like, to this day there has been no shortage of “the surprise factor” as i like to call it because to this day i promise you life with both of my daughters has been full of surprises. :-)

I have two daughters they are both full of personality and sassiness, each day i learn a little bit more about them especially being that they are growing up and in a sense in their own little ways starting to define themselves, this is a journey i happily get to experience, i have the pleasure of watching them Become day by day, i’m grateful that they allow me to guide them and help them even with their feelings and emotions, in a sense it brings me closer, i appreciate the bond i have with my daughters.

To find out the gender of my son was truly a surprise, to be honest every step of the way up until my gender reveal i was sure that it was going to be a girl, i was adamant that i just could not produce boys because my mom along with many of my sisters have a plethora of daughters, there are perhaps 5 to 10 boys on my entire side of my family so to find out that i was having a baby boy was definitely a shock and exciting and a little scary all at the same time.

So, the day of my gender reveal…. imagine my surprise when i cut the cake and a sea of blue fell out, at first i kida stood there shocked because i couldn't believe it, now remember i was adamant that i couldn't produce boys so i stood there a bit confused and shocked for a second and then the joy set in, Happiness that my womb had this time been blessed with a boy child, it was at that moment that things changed, no more all things pink, no more sharing clothes and mommy getting to play dress up with another little princess. I became worried, I knew nothing about boy children or where to start.

To even imagine giving birth to a boy child was so overwhelming at times, a boy? How do I raise him? Will his sisters get along with him? What do I buy for him? What kind of toys should I buy for him? What kind of birthday parties am I supposed to think of? So many questions that I had after my gender reveal.

It’s now June 2022, my son is 7 months old and here is what i have learned so far, my daughters as mischievous as they are, they are so alike yet so different, my son he is this ray of light, a little ball of love and affection and smiles, he warms and touches my heart like i wouldn’t have imagined possible, there’s something about having a boy child that’s just different.

It’s a joy seeing all 3 of my children get along well, my son bonds with each of his sisters differently but watching them play and grow together is in a sense magical and a blessing.

Having this little human who looks up at me, and reaches for me and smiles and gives me hugs and falls asleep in my arms it tugs at my heart, it’s nothing short of amazing.

My daughters will always be my reason for buying all things pink, pretty dresses, Barbie dolls, cute shoes and sneakers and all, as they grow up they will go through one of their rights of passage (shopping with mommy) where they will drive me absolutely insane but deep down i’ll absolutely love it. :-)

My son will not be no stranger to running around the house or playing outside or chasing after his sisters as he gets a little older and is able to walk and run, i’ll hear the pit pat on my floors of a little rambunctious little boy with his siblings and i will smile and laugh and enjoy those moments as i watch my children in play.

The moments that they share now and those to come are as the young people say… “it’s everything”

parents
Like

About the Creator

Christina

Hi. i have been writing since 2017, I find that writing is my safe place, my peace, a part of my heart. I love writing encouraging, inspirational pieces as well as short stories and children's stories. i enjoy family time and relaxation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.