Families logo

Humorous Tale of The Cookie Dough Bandits

True Childhood Memory

By Valencia A. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

You might agree there are a lot of things siblings can look back on throughout their lives to which they feel anger, sadness, or pure joy. I'm fortunate to have a great relationship with my older sister Chavi. So usually we're laughing about something. We may be happily married adults living in different states now but it doesn't stop me from occasionally shading her cookie dough eating abilities. It was a moment of pressure and one of us delivered.

Long ago, my mom was baking chocolate chip cookies. Like always she cooked like there were 20 people coming over so it was a huge bowl. She had to step away a second and headed out the kitchen but not before turning to provide instructions to us both.

"DON'T touch the batter I'm not done yet!" she stated with a stern tone.

We both nodded our heads and sat down across the table as if to wait. My sister and I are very close, we almost our own language. We can say certain things no one else understands. Sometimes we don't have to speak at all. It can be a look..or a gesture.

Well, we obviously had the same idea in mind because the moment mom turned the corner we both popped up and dove into that bowl like two addicts. We had zero regard of the consequences and began eating chunks of cookie dough. Usually mom had us in line. We knew she meant what she said and we did what we were told but the cookie dough was spell bound. We were acting like she left the house and we had all the time in the world to eat large amounts at a time. Unfortunately we were thrown back into reality quick when we heard her coming back. The panic overwhelmed us. We had seconds to act with mouths full of dough.

WASTE NOT WANT NOT. I wanted every bit of my sweet treat. Survival mode kicked in. Mom is heavy footed and we could hear every commanding step as she walked down the hall.

If there was a world record for chewing fast I'm sure I deserve one. I was chewing so fast my temples hurt. Now while I managed to swallow the last bit of dough with only a little chocolate stuck in the back of my teeth. My older sister, who I looked up to and counted on gave up. She took the huge ball of dough out of her mouth and threw it across the room.

I wish I could say the ball landed in some obscure position on the floor but it did not! It stuck to the wall within eye level from the force of her throw. We both sat down in perfect unison a half second after the dough hit and a full second before mom walked back into the kitchen. She walked right passed it to start spooning dough on the sheet. We stood there quiet and paranoid from our guilt. We kept looking behind mom as the dough slowly released its hold from the wall. Some how mom never saw it even though it seemed to make the loudest sound hitting the floor. I held my breath after it landed thinking "this is it, she's going to turn around, see it and we're done." nope.

The cookie dough bandits got what they wanted without consequences that time. Our sweet indulgences would later weigh down our waistline but the memory of our cookie dough craving remains one of the sweetest.

children
1

About the Creator

Valencia A. Thomas

Who said you only need one hat!? I have many. Healthcare worker, Real Estate Investor, Artist, Writer...Did I mention I like to cook too?

Welcome! I look forward to sharing just a little bit of life with you. Love and Blessings

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.