Families logo

How Religion Saved My Relationship And It Can Save Yours Too

Gods marriage

By Brooklyn shakespeare Published about a year ago 3 min read
personal engagement photo

Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh. (Genesis 2:24)

Marriage in the eyes of society

Many people believe that marriage is "just a piece of paper". 

This always made me ask, "Why get married then?" If there is no point in a marriage then why waste time and money on a celebration?

The truth is Marriage is a very special and important thing. God had a purpose for marriages.

Then the Lord God said, "It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him." (Genesis 2:18)

personal engagement photo

Marriage is supposed to bring two people together in harmony, cooperation, and love to create a functional family and home. God had intentions for marriage and people should respect marriages more and celebrate them as something of importance.

Religion in Relationship

To the rest I say (I, not the Lord) that if any brother has a wife who is an unbeliever, and she consents to live with him, he should not divorce her. If any woman has a husband who is an unbeliever, and he consents to live with her, she should not divorce him. For the unbelieving husband is made holy because of his wife, and the unbelieving wife is made holy because of her husband. (1 Corinthians 7:12)

This verse from the Bible I find true Based on my own experience. In short, this says that a woman who lives for God will lead her husband to do the same and likewise.

In my own relationship, we have been through so many hard times. It is especially difficult for a young couple with two toddlers who moved halfway across the country from their hometown.

Being away from any family and support system put some strain on our relationship and I had not yet found God.

A few months ago I made the choice to surrender to the Lord and put all of my trust and faith in him. The more I reach for god the more I connect with my partner.

demonstration chart

Above, I show you and your partner.

We always try to make our point in arguments we don't have a healthy dynamic. We follow society's morals instead of those God put in place.

So, instead of letting God guide our relationship and turning to him in conflict, we keep trying to move toward our partner as shown with red arrows. This is where you will see the black shapes these represent conflict.

If we were instead to turn to God and reach for him and be what HE wants us to be instead of trying to please our partner first look at what happens when both partners do this.

As represented by the green arrows as both partners turn to God and go to him, they will meet in peace harmony understanding, and love.

As represented by the yellow heart this is where the relationship is the strongest and where nothing can break it because your love is protected by him.

Do you see both of you up there with him? This is where I like the saying a match made in heaven.

Steadfast love and faithfulness meet; righteousness and peace kiss each other. (Psalm 85:10)

Purity of marriage

In addition, we know about temptation and sexual immorality. God does not want us to fall into temptation. A majority of people are guilty of sexual immorality this is another example of following society and not God. I myself am guilty of this but God has now given me a wonderful partner' and this is where we can stray from temptation and sin. In marriage, God gives a man one woman and a woman one man to satisfy this need without the temptation of sexual immorality.

But because of the temptation to sexual immorality, each man should have his own wife and each woman her own husband. The husband should give to his wife her conjugal rights, and likewise the wife to her husband (1 Corinthians 7:1- 40)

How can this help you?

By learning to let God into my relationship the connection between my partner and I has grown stronger. When I am uncomfortable with something or disagree I don't argue instead I take it to God. Yes, I tattle on my husband.

This doesn't mean I don't communicate with him. I still voice my concerns, but I just don't argue I let God handle it and guide us. We have fewer conflicts and disagreements. We are more understanding and compassionate to one another. This truly shows that God is love.

married

About the Creator

Brooklyn shakespeare

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Brooklyn shakespeare Written by Brooklyn shakespeare

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.