Families logo

How Red Light Therapy Saved My Joints

By Jin Doe

By keep heathyPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like

I have always been an active person. I love hiking, biking, swimming, and playing with my kids. I enjoy being outdoors and feeling the sun on my skin. I never thought that one day, I would wake up and feel like an old man.

But that’s what happened to me a few years ago. I started to feel pain and stiffness in my muscles and joints, especially in the morning. It was hard to get out of bed, or even move my fingers. I felt like I had been hit by a truck. I went to see a doctor, hoping to find out what was wrong with me.

The doctor ran some tests and told me that I had two conditions: polymyalgia rheumatica and rheumatoid arthritis. He explained that they were both chronic inflammatory diseases that affected the muscles and joints, but they had different causes and symptoms. He said that polymyalgia rheumatica was a condition that caused pain and stiffness in the muscles of the neck, shoulders, hips, and thighs, and that it usually affected people over the age of 50. He said that rheumatoid arthritis was a condition that caused pain and swelling in the joints, especially in the hands, wrists, and feet, and that it was an autoimmune disorder, in which the immune system mistakenly attacked the synovial membrane, which was the lining of the joints.

He prescribed me some medications, such as corticosteroids, anti-inflammatory drugs, and disease-modifying antirheumatic drugs, to reduce the inflammation and relieve the symptoms. He also suggested some lifestyle changes, such as regular exercise, healthy diet, and stress management, to improve the quality of life and prevent complications. He said that these treatments might help to reduce the symptoms, but they wouldn’t cure the conditions. He said that there was no cure for polymyalgia rheumatica or rheumatoid arthritis, and that I would have to live with the pain and stiffness for the rest of my life.

I felt devastated and depressed. I wondered how I would be able to enjoy my life again. I wondered how I would be able to do the things that I loved again. I felt like giving up.

But then, something happened that changed my life. I discovered red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a form of photobiomodulation that uses low-level wavelengths of red and near-infrared light to stimulate cellular processes and enhance healing. I learned that red light therapy had been proven by multiple studies to have various benefits for pain relief, such as reducing inflammation, increasing blood circulation, enhancing tissue repair, and modulating pain perception.

I decided to give it a try. I bought a red light therapy belt, which was a device that wrapped around my affected area and emitted red and near-infrared light to the affected area. I used it at home, every day, for about 10 to 20 minutes. I also continued to follow the doctor’s advice and take the medications and do the physical therapy.

And to my surprise, it worked. After a few weeks of using the red light therapy belt, I noticed a significant improvement in my pain and stiffness. The pain was less intense, less frequent, and less lasting. My muscles and joints felt more flexible, more comfortable, and more alive. I could hike, bike, swim, and play with my kids again. I could do the things that I loved again. I felt like I had regained a part of myself.

I was amazed by the results. I couldn’t believe that something so simple and natural could make such a difference. I wondered why I hadn’t heard of red light therapy before. I wondered how many people were suffering from pain and stiffness, and didn’t know that there was a solution.

That’s why I decided to write this article. I wanted to share my story with you, and let you know that there is hope. If you are suffering from pain and stiffness caused by PMR or RA, you may want to consider red light therapy. It may not be a magic bullet that can cure your pain and stiffness overnight, but it can be a helpful adjunct to your existing treatment plan. It can help you reduce your reliance on medications, injections, or surgery, and improve your quality of life.

I hope you found this article helpful and informative. If you did, please share it with your friends and family who may also suffer from pain and stiffness caused by PMR or RA. And if you have any questions, comments, or feedback, please feel free to leave them below. I would love to hear from you and learn from your experience. Thank you for reading, and I wish you a pain-free day!

how tograndparentschildrenadviceadoption
Like

About the Creator

keep heathy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.