Families logo

How Does this Work?

Vocal? and Anthem's Arena

By Anthony AnthemPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Who the f#$% am I?

For weeks I have seen commercials for this site called vocal and wondered, "what on earth is this platform?"

They say it's a way to make money by telling your stories. My question to that is, "what stories are they wanting to know?" I want to figure out what exactly this platform is? So, here I am. Are you still reading this? My name is Anthony I come from the Midwest. I live in the Kansas City, Missouri Metro area. Yes, Missouri, not Kansas. The reason why I say that is because even that jackass (Donald Trump), who use to be in office, mistakes us as Kansas. When our Football Team, the Kansas City Chief's won the Super Bowl last year when he congratulated the great state of "Kansas" for their Super Bowl victory the previous year. Any consolation, we made shirts to commemorate "Kansas's Victory" in quick fashion as a middle finger for those who don't know how to read a geographical map. Anyway, I have been in Missouri for 20 plus years since my mother moved us here due to my parents splitting when I was about nine years old. And I have been here ever since.

Before planting my roots in Missouri, the first few years of my life was that of a military brat. Not a long term thing compared to others my parents got out when I was still a small child. I was born in California smack dab in the middle of the desert on a hot August day on a Thursday in 1989. Anyone who is Military Knows the base I am talking about 29 Palms, also known by the Marines 29 Stumps. Trust me when I tell you even now, after almost 32 years of life, there is still nothing there. Just think desert and tumbleweeds, and well, there you go. After a few months, we moved around we ended up in Michigan, and then we touched down in the great state of Florida (note that is sarcasm) until the age of nine. Don't get me wrong, at the time, Florida wasn't all that bad in the nineties.

But of course, now, I am an adult and know how crazy that state really is, and anybody from Florida would tell you the same thing. Now you are probably wondering at this point if you are still reading this, why did my parents split, and how did I end up in Missouri? Well, my Dad, to sum it up, decided to be Ike Turner when it came to his relationship with my mom. Now for the younger crowd who don't get that reference think Chris Brown, Ray Rice, or Currently in the news, Chad Wheeler.

This went on for about ten years of marriage before and after I was born. Separated Shoulders, Black eyes, Gas Lighting, Murder Threats, the whole nine yards; unfortunately, I witnessed a lot of that in those years. I am paying for it now with lots of therapy and happy pills. Yay me!!! Thanks, Dad. Now was it always doom and gloom, no. But memories like that don't fade. Growing in Florida, I did have positive surroundings, too, due to the fact my Dad's side of the family resided in the same city.

By the way, this was based in the City of Jacksonville. Jaguars, Limp Bizkit, Duval County, Jacksonville. My Florida relatives were my outlet outside of my distorted home life with the folks. I spent most of my time with my Dad's Sister; of course, I call her Aunt Tracy and Her Husband my Uncle Joe, and my cousins Autumn and Jasmin, which I'll give more detail on that at a later time. But for now, this is just an intro to who I am, and well, I think we will stop right here for now-Anthem

humanity
1

About the Creator

Anthony Anthem

Podcaster, Adventurer, Dreamer and much more with stories that sometimes make sense and sometimes to be honest they don't?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.