Families logo

Home is a Painting From the Past

A script about love, loss, and letting go

By Minte StaraPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
3
Home is a Painting From the Past
Photo by Blake Wheeler on Unsplash

FADE IN:

INT. QUINN HOUSE: PENNY'S ROOM - PRESENT - DAY

Inside PENNY QUINN's bedroom, full of items fit for a teenager, though it still has paintings and posters on the wall from tweenhood.

Penny (17) is crying soundlessly on her bed, head in hands.

ANGLE TO: Photo on desk side table. Two men, JULIUS QUINN and MARCEL QUINN, and YOUNG PENNY (12) are pictured.

DISSOLVE TO:

EXT. QUINN HOUSE - FRONT LAWN - PAST - DAY

Shown is a quaint-looking house in a small cul-de-sac. Same two men, JULIUS and MARCEL, stand in front of it. YOUNG PENNY (12) stands between them.

YOUNG PENNY

Are we really all gonna stay in one house now? I don’t like both my dads in different places.

JULIUS

(Ruffling Young Penny's hair.)

That's right kiddo. One big family. You, me, and Marcel.

YOUNG PENNY

I get my own room, right? But I'll get to come hug you or Dad any time I want?

MARCEL

Of course you can, sweetpea. You can come hug me and Julius any time you want. But I won’t be leaving you alone yet. I was promised the project of designing your room. Whatcha think? Willing to have Dad do a bit of painting on the walls?

YOUNG PENNY

(Nods at Marcel's question)

Yeah! Make it really pretty! A night sky!

JULIUS

(Looks at Marcel, a little nervous)

Ready to go in, dear?

MARCEL

Only as long as you're ready.

DISSOLVE TO:

INT. QUINN HOUSE: PENNY’S ROOM - PRESENT - DAY

PENNY looks up at the mural on her wall, stands, and shoves some of her own paint off her desk on the way to the door. The paint containers break, splattering against the mural. PENNY walks down the stairs, passing pictures of Young PENNY, JULIUS, and MARCEL, as well as her GRANDMOTHER and GRANDFATHER, as she descends.

GRANDMOTHER (O.S.)

Penny? Where are you going?

PENNY

Out! I need air! I won’t be back for a while!

GRANDMOTHER

(Appears in a doorway)

What? But you can't just -

PENNY

I'm leaving. I can't stay here anymore. I can't keep passing all of these memories!

She waves her hand wildly enough that she knocks one photo off the wall. It CRASHES against the floor.

ZOOM IN ON PICTURE

The glass is cracked around the face of Marcel.

DISSOLVE TO:

INT. QUINN HOUSE - LIVING ROOM - PAST - AFTERNOON

GRANDMOTHER and GRANDFATHER are sitting in the living room, watching a movie. JULIUS is nearby with YOUNG PENNY (13), playing a board game on the floor.

YOUNG PENNY

Where's Dad?

JULIUS

I don't know, honey.

JULIUS looks up at GRANDMOTHER and GRANDFATHER hesitantly, doubt in his expression.

GRANDFATHER

(Gets up and heads out of the living room)

I'll go check to see where he is. I'm sure he's just busy.

JULIUS

Thank you ...

GRANDFATHER (O.S.)

(Within hearing of Julius and Penny)

Are you alright?

MARCEL (O.S.)

I'm fine.

GRANDFATHER (O.S.)

Marcel ...

MARCEL (O.S.)

I said ... I said I'm fine. Dad. It's okay. I can take care of myself.

MARCEL enters the living room, a forced smile on his face. His hair is wet, his clothing rumpled. He doesn't look very healthy.

MARCEL

So. What are we playing?

DISSOLVE TO:

EXT. QUINN HOUSE - GARAGE - PRESENT - DAY

PENNY pulls out of the garage, disturbing the cat which is resting on the hood. The cat jumps off the car, watching as Penny backs out. PENNY watches the cat.

DISSOLVE TO:

INT. QUINN HOUSE - LIVING ROOM - PAST - AFTERNOON

The cat doesn't look very pleased with the new house it has been placed in. YOUNG PENNY (14) looks through the mesh of the cat carrier with curiosity. MARCEL stands nearby, looking worse than before. His hair is uncombed, even though he occasionally rubs a hand through it. He has large circles under his eyes. He is undoubtedly sick.

YOUNG PENNY

When can she come out and play?

MARCEL

When she gets a bit more used to the place. Maybe tomorrow.

YOUNG PENNY

That's great! Thanks, Dad! Do you wanna play with her tomorrow too?

MARCEL

(Pause)

Maybe, dear ... Ask Papa, okay? I ... don't know if I'll be up to it.

YOUNG PENNY

If ... if you're sure.

She's now looking at her father, very worried. MARCEL smiles, eyes not meeting hers.

DISSOLVE TO:

EXT. CHERRY HEIGHTS - PRESENT - AFTERNOON

PENNY pulls out into Cherry Heights, but almost at once bursts into tears again. She turns out of the drive and out into the mostly deserted town.

PENNY

Dad ... I ... I'm sorry.

She checks the rear-view mirror, breathing heavily.

PAN TO REAR-VIEW MIRROR, SHOWING THE PAST

JULIUS

You just have to turn the wheel like this.

He demonstrates the action on the car wheel. PENNY (17) isn't paying attention.

JULIUS

Penny ... Penny, are you watching?

PENNY looks up from the car dash.

PENNY

Sorry. Sorry. What did you say?

JULIUS

Is there something on your mind?

PENNY

It's just ... I thought ... I thought Dad might be here to teach me too.

JULIUS

(A beat)

I know. I'm sorry Penny. I know he would be if he could.

PENNY

(under her breath)

If he loved me so much ... why did he have to die?

JULIUS

(Shocked and hurt, tears budding in his eyes)

Penny ...

CAMERA RETURNS TO INTERIOR OF CAR AND THE PRESENT

PENNY

(To herself)

I deserved more than one parent. I deserved it ...

PENNY drives toward the edge of town. Ghostly images of YOUNG PENNY, MARCEL, and JULIUS appear, walking the streets, going to the park, restaurant, or shopping. The old memories only fade when she passes the "WELCOME TO CHERRY HEIGHTS" sign.

EXT. CHERRY HEIGHTS - PRESENT - NIGHT

PENNY's cellphone RINGS in her pocket. The road is deserted. She pulls to the side of the road.

PENNY

Hello?

MARCEL

Penny? Why did you leave home?

PENNY chokes on a sob. She covers her mouth, holding in the words before saying them in a rush.

PENNY

I need to go, Dad. Please. I'm sorry. I'm so sorry. Every time I'm at home, I see you. You're everywhere. You're dead. You're dead and you're not going away.

MARCEL

Penny. I'm the one who is sorry.

The call FRACTURES and BUZZES.

MARCEL

If you never come back ... I love you. No matter where you are or where you call home. If that's not where you grew up, then so be it.

PENNY

I miss you. Papa misses you. It hurts. And all I can do is talk to you in my head and it's never the same. Why can't you just come back? Why couldn't you have been there?

MARCEL

I love you. I know it's not enough to say that. But I love you. Find home wherever you need to be.

The call CUTS OUT.

EXT. CHERRY HEIGHTS - PRESENT - DAY

PENNY jerks awake, asleep against her steering wheel. She pats her pockets, bleary eyed, and finds her cellphone in her pocket. She pulls it out, checking the screen. The time is 7:12 AM and the latest call she placed was three days ago. The call from her dead father was a dream.

PENNY

Dad ...

She holds her phone tightly between her hand. She opens one of her contacts - JULIUS - and places the call.

JULIUS

Penny! Where are you? Are you okay? Where can I pick you up? Do you have any idea how worried I am? Penny?

PENNY

Papa.

(A beat)

I'm sorry. I didn't mean to worry you. I just ... I can't stay in Cherry Heights anymore. I can't be at home.

There is a pause on the line.

JULIUS

Things are hard right now, sweetpea. I know. I can't change it. I want to so badly.

PENNY

I love you. But I need to be away for a while. Just for a little. You, the house ... that's home. But right now, I need to go away to remember the good memories there. Just for now. Please.

JULIUS

I can’t change your mind, can I? You’re already out there. I can’t be there for you. You’re sure … Alright. I love you too.

There is pain in his voice. There are several moments of silence.

PENNY

I’m sure. Thank you, Papa. I'll be home soon.

CUT TO: END CREDITS OVER BACKGROUND

EXT. CHERRY HEIGHTS - PRESENT - NIGHT

The final scene is a car, parked on the side of a deserted highway. There are no lights around it, but very far in the distance is the lights of a town - home. The stars above shine brightly. The scene changes ever so slightly, becoming a painting. A hand - MARCEL's - reaches out and adds a streak to the end of a star. A shooting star.

FADE OUT:

humanity
3

About the Creator

Minte Stara

Small writer and artist who spends a lot of their time stuck in books, the past, and probably a library.

Currently I'm working on my debut novel What's Normal Here, a historical/fantasy romance.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.