Families logo

Hobby VS.Way Of Life

When Does Your Hobby Become Just That...A Hobby?

By Amanda J MollettPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Hobby VS.Way Of Life
Photo by Simon Noh on Unsplash

Over the course of a few months, I have seen a few posts, articles, or comments about hobbies like music, tools, and cars, how they are not hobbies, but instead ways of life, or careers. So, when is a hobby just that...a hobby?

Let us start with the one that really bothers me. My dad had shared a post that said something to the effect of music was not a hobby it is a way of life, I saw it and I thought about my childhood with a father that was never around, and always playing music. He was never famous, never made an album, only played in bars, or at county fairs. However, he would not work to provide for his family, he was only concerned about playing his music.

I used to love watching my dad play with his band, and I enjoyed listening to his music. It was years later, that I saw it in a new light. I saw it as something else. I thought of it as his hobby. So, it really bugs me to see that he acts music is his way of life.

Another thing I saw was that my brother had talked about in a post him spending his money on tools and cars that sit in the backyard, untouched. And how some people give him gruff about it. My dad commented that it was not for nothing, it was honing his craft to buy those tools.

The problem that I have with is is not buying some tools, or having a few cars that sit in the yard, or even playing in the bars. My problem is the act of how it is "a way of life" and not a hobby.

It is a way of life when you are making money to support your family, when you are giving all, you got to make it a career, or when you are trying to hone your craft. It is a hobby though, when you are playing all day and not spending time with your family or providing for them, then it is a hobby you need to practice less, if at all.

As writers, it can be our hobby, or it can be our passion, but if it takes over me being a mom? Nah, I can give it up. Writing is my livelihood, but no way would it become more important than my family.

You can live with out music, you can not live with out food or drinks. Growing up, my dad was out of the house because he wanted to play music and chase skirts, he should have been a dad taking care of his wife and kids.

I did too many hot dogs and bologna sandwiches days, not having electricity or gas, having to warm up water on the stove to take a bath, so he could chase women and play in those bars. He acted like it was a way of life. Until he reached his 40's and got his "new" family, he had not had a stable day in his life.

So, be mad. Sorry, not sorry. Some of the time... it is just a hobby!

Do not get confused about it what you love is a hobby or a way of life. The only thing that should be your way of life, is your family. Your wife, your kids, providing for your family, being a husband and a father, or a wife and a mother. Always put your family first before any hobbies or jobs or fixing cars in the yard.

Family means every thing!

humanity
2

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • August Black2 years ago

    My friends say that I have a boring hobby because I devote all my free time to csgo. Actually, I don't agree with them. I like to play cs go and also look for interesting and rare skins here https://dmarket.com/csgo-skins/product-card/bowie-knife-fade, for example, bowie knife fade skin. I don't understand how it can get boring.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.