Families logo

Her

Thanks to a little black book

By Candace GomezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Her
Photo by Molly Belle on Unsplash

Summer was about to start, a new schedule for everyone. First week didn’t start off to well. He didn’t feel good, still made it to his destination but called it a night. That next morning I checked in, he had my daughter with him, part of the new schedule. Minimal words exchanged, not abnormal for communication between us. He ended up not going to work. He hadn’t missed a day of work in all the years we were married and all the years we weren’t. After my initial playful thought of pigs flying, it sank in. Something was wrong. She was ok, so I didn’t think much of it.

A day or two passed, I did my things, the gym, work, grocery shopping. Occasionally I checked in, didn’t really get any answers except for the ok’s or the one word “sick”.

I was standing in the kitchen of the house we bought 3 years before, only I was downstairs in the in-law apartment. He lived upstairs with his new wife. The next set of events would change the rest of our lives.

He was going in for brain surgery. What the hell? This man worked two jobs from the age of 8 to now, a healthy 42 year old. Or so one would think. I stuttered on the phone as to not let any emotion flood through my voice.

I had to go to work, after all an ex going in for brain surgery was not on the list of reasons to call out.

Halfway through my shift I found out he made it through. He was ok, he was going to be ok. We visited him, he was tired, and it was the first time I saw him so vulnerable. She was awkward. She didn’t do anything completely. She walked half way into the room, partially hugged him only 5 years, this was new to her.

Life went onward. Gym, Work, Grocery Shopping. A little get away to the beach. So much fun. She swung high into the clouds on the swing, we laughed as the waves came up to our feet, no feet. Feet. We ate whatever we wanted while at the beach.

We left the beach, another phone call. I didn’t like phone calls that much the past week. It was his mother, speaking so fast at first I didn’t understand, Oh, its him, they have taken him again. His sister is a nurse and was well suited to take care of him through the weekend as another nurse had shown her how to administer the antibiotics. What could have happened?

Four new infections bigger and badder, were attacking the antibiotics, this time he didn’t wake up.

I had her record a message so he could listen from his hospital bed, it was said that his vitals changed when he listened. I don’t know though. We were 70 miles away.

We got down there when I thought it was necessary. It was only necessary because he had been pronounced dead. Doctors said they were doing the final tests to prove their theory. Doctors are so stuck up, so arrogant.

We said our goodbyes, I asked to have the room so we could say goodbye alone. At 5 I didn’t want there to be anything left on the table, she didn’t get it but she did.

The days following were quiet, dismal, until a phone call came in.

“you have to save your daughters inheritance.”

With that credit cards were maxed out, and a suitcase was packed. She came with me.

Sitting at the table with professional legal help it came down to a book that was sitting on the table as to how much she would get. He kept everything in that book, down to the penny how much he owed people, how much was spent on inventory. Every single detail. This little black book held her future inside. I was staring at it for quite some time, basically the whole meeting. In the last 5 minutes of the meeting, the book was opened.

$718,700,000 Pesos. Roughly $20,000 in USD. Thanks to a little black book!

grief
Like

About the Creator

Candace Gomez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.