Families logo

Happy Easter...

I need to vent.

By Rene PetersPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Happy Easter...
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I want to start by saying "Happy Easter" to those who celebrate it.

Now onto my venting...

Today started out as a great day for me. I woke up at my normal time and got ready to go to my grandma and grandpa's house, as we planned on doing. Even with my anxiety about showering, I pushed myself to do that. I walked the dog, and I had coffee. Basically, I did everything I planned on doing, in the order in which I scheduled to do it all. We went over there around noon and everything was great. I was extremely excited to see my grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins.

For nearly two hours, I was having fun and felt fine (which I worried about due to having epilepsy. At 2 PM, I woke up on the floor, knowing I had a seizure, based on how I felt physically. I had a really bad headache and my knee was hurting. I later on realized I had scraped my knee which was causing the pain.

Luckily for me, my cousin didn't drink enough to be tipsy (she hadn't finished her first glass of wine) and offered to drive me home if I wanted to go so I could rest. I tried to stay but didn't want to stay because of the pain and being so tired that I became apathetic. I didn't want people to worry and I did not want to ruin everyone else to be worried about me so I went up to her privately and said, "If your offer still stands, I would love to go home. I hurt and am so tired that I need to sleep." She was perfectly fine with taking me because she knows how bad it is for me both physically and mentally. Her sister came along since we are all around similar ages (25, 23, and 22) and have always been super close.

The two of them brought me home and, after taking care of my injuries, I called a friend. We talked for a little while and I fell asleep around 3 PM. I didn't wake up until about 6:30 PM (oops... I did not want to sleep for that long). My room was so bright that I thought I slept all night.

When I woke up, I was almost crying because my headache was even worse than when I fell asleep. I know coffee at almost 7 PM is not ideal in the slightest but caffeine with Tylenol is basically Excedrin, so I knew it would have the same effect and really help (which I was right about, so I don't regret that decision at all).

What I find a little funny is the first thing I asked my dad... "You didn't get hurt again, did you?" His response was, "I'm not sure but don't worry about me. Also, it lasted about a minute and 15 seconds." He hurt his leg in a motorcycle accident last year and had to have three surgeries on it from the severity of the break. He also hurt it (not too bad but he was sore) after the seizure before this one, where he apparently ran upstairs when he heard me fall to ensure I was kept safe.

Even though sometimes my parents drive me crazy, I am extremely grateful that they are so amazing.

* * *

If you read everything here, thank you. It was a pretty rough day but my amazing family made it more tolerable. I honestly don't know what I would do without them all.

For more journaling and poetry (primarily those with some miscellaneous content), feel free to subscribe to my page.

parentsextended family
1

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing this, and Happy Easter to you Rene

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.