Families logo

Getaway

This week without stress

By Terri RosallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Getaway
Photo by Harshil Gudka on Unsplash

This year for Mother's Day I decided that I just wanted to get away from the stress that I deal with every day.

I am spending a week at my son's trailer in the woods. I had no deal what to pack for the trip. See I live in Florida. You may think this is a problem.

Well, it is because seen we are in a change of season here. One day hot and the next day it cold. I have overloaded my suitcase with everything that I think of and had to sit on it close it

I was not going to take this trip by myself. I was taking the dog with me. She was easy to pack for 2 bowls and her food of course and food for me also. She was easy to pack for 2 bowls and her food.

Since it was his place I asked before I went to the trailer. I told him that I would change his curtains. What color. He said nothing too girly for my mom. You know what colors he would tell me. You know what color I like. him told. Every time I washed the old ones they would fall apart. He agreed that it was time for new ones

So the day before Mother's Day we traded places to live In the car we went me and the dog. Thoughts of what I was in for when I walked into his trailer was it going to be more stress of cleaning it all week.

I was surprised it wasn't the way I thought it would be. Pretty neat with a note for me to tell me what and where to find things. This was special because he signed it the management of the trailer thought that I was checking into a hotel, not his trailer. I was surprised it wasn't the way I thought it would be. It was clean and neat.

So, on Mother's Day's I rested and watched shows that I want to watch with the dog. Very peaceful and relaxing just what I needed to do.

Monday was the big day to change out the curtains in the trailer. So off to Walmart with my ideas in mind. I went with a cream color for him so it would match the rest of the trailer. Brought hooks and everything. Thoughts in my head were if he going to like this color and the changes that I would do. Tuesday was more changes to curtains. Wednesday would be the big day for him to see the changes.

In between changes and rearranging the curtains The dog and I would take walks in the wood. A lot of thinking time for me. I wonder what type of animals we will on daily walks and night. Last night would be Tuesday night would be our last night at the trailer and would he like the changes that I did. During the walk all the squirrels that the dog can see. It just me and dog and out on these walk with nature as our guide.

Now, you think about what stress I am may have in my life. What stressors does she have? I was getting a Mother's Day gift in the woods doesn't hurt anyone. The trailer is 20 minutes from my house if I had to go home in an emergency plus I am living in Florida.

I have a husband that has Cancer, which there is no cure for. There is a lot of things to think about on this getaway. How I am going to do this by myself with our son who is special needs and only 23 years old. I have been thinking all types of things.

Now it Wednesday morning time for him to come back to the trailer. So, I wait thinking will he like it. This is story is going to have a happy ending.

He told me that he like the changes and things will be ok if anything happens to his dad because will we have each other to get through the good and bad times. This was a Mother's Day gift that I will have forever. Time at trailer and time to for him to like the changes to the trailer also.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.