Families logo

Funny Times With My Brother

Some jokes with my brother.

By Rika LekayPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
6

Caption: An image of me. I would post one of my brother and I but there aren’t any good ones, plus my brother doesn’t go outside 🤣 and also for privacy reasons.

I've grown up with the blessing (and sometimes a curse) of having a younger brother.

As siblings, we've had our fair share of sibling rivalry and fighting when we were younger.

Now that we're older, we've grown out of our "fighting" phase, and being a year apart from one another, we have realized that the other is not going away anytime soon, and came to terms with one another.

We actually share some similar interests.

For starters, my brother has been working on writing his own story. Originally, he wanted it to be an anime, but he was like "I cannot afford an anime right now, so a book will do."

**********************************************************************

But...it's a JoJo reference:

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure

We also have a similar sense of humor. If I find a meme that makes me laugh, I know my brother will laugh. We would also make jokes about anime, especially when we used to work together.

A common joke was when we were both working as cashiers for the same employer. Jokingly, I would say, "Hey, no breathing."

To which my brother would reply, "but...it's a JoJo reference."

I only know about "JoJo's Bizarre Adventure" because of my brother. I have never actually watched it myself.

There are many different versions of "The JoJo reference" meme variations. Ranging from "KONO DIO DA," "YOU WERE EXPECTING ____, BUT IT WAS I, DIO," "YARE YARE DAZE," and even a personal favorite of ours... "Oh, you're approaching me? Instead of running away, you're coming right to me." Which it is typically followed by an "I can't beat the shit outta you without getting closer."

Eventually, I ended up finding another job that paid me better than this job. I put in my two weeks and on my final day of this job, my brother says, "noooooo! Who else will I talk about anime and memes with at work?"

I replied with, "Well, there's the managers and other cashiers."

My brother said, "That's not the same. They're all normies, at least you understand anime and are a cultured memer."

**********************************************************************

FBI OPEN UP:

An old joke that has gotten quite ancient now was the "FBI OPEN UP" meme. The context is that both myself and my brother love to be alone in our rooms: playing video games, writing, listening to music, watching youtube, and whatever. Whenever our parents needed one of us, we would knock on the others' door and scream "FBI OPEN UP."

**********************************************************************

Among Us:

As of recently, another joke we would scream is the famous "AMOGUS" and "SUS" words because of all the recent memes and popular video game, "Among Us."

This is still an ongoing joke. I will put an image up to help explain.

A very sus crewmate

Basically, if there's anything that resembles the above image, we will scream out "SUS" and "AMOGUS."

Yes, it may seem stupid to some, but this is a "Gen Z's" version of humor nowadays.

**********************************************************************

This last one I'm going to mention isn't technically an inside joke but I still find it funny. Whenever I'm out in public, and not with my brother, I get many people coming up to me and assuming one of two things. One, my brother and I are twins. Two, I'm the younger sibling. I'm the older one, though I'm assuming our height differences may have an influence on those assumptions.

siblings
6

About the Creator

Rika Lekay

Hi! I'm currently 20 years old and I love to write short stories, poems, novels, and writing prompts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.