Families logo

Fruit Of His Labor

The Pear Tree

By Kathy TaylorPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dad and his Pear Tree

Its true what they say, when you marry somebody you marry their family too. My father-in-law was a good hard working man. He loved his family, he loved his friends and he loved God. He also had a love for the outdoors. As long as I was his daughter-in-law every year he had huge gardens. He also had several fruit trees that he loved to take care of. I think the Pear Tree was his favorite. After he retired he spent more and more time in his garden and with his fruit trees. His hard labor paid off. He was able to sell many vegetables from his garden. On Saturdays he would be at The Farmers Market selling his vegetables and his fruit. He never sold many pears however because he loved to eat them himself. He was very proud of his beautiful Pears. Dad did let his children and grandchildren have a pear now and again. If he ever saw you eat a pear and then you tossed it he would go look in the trash to make sure the pear had been eaten. He was not one for wasting and for SURE not food. Don't waste Food. I have to say the old dude would eat almost anything. One of the pleasures in his ninety years of life was going out to eat or eating a nice meal at home, just somebody feed him. My husband - his oldest son is a lot like his Dad. Dad was strict and did things old school. It made my husband the dad he is today. I do not always agree with my husband but I love and respect him. To us our sons are great but what parent doesn't feel that way. Our oldest always sent a big box of pears to dad for Christmas. His always got that sweet little grin when he was happy. I saw that every year as he opened that box. I had got cuttings of the pear tree and Dad would even come out to our house to help me plant it and take care of it. No matter what we tried and both of us were good with plants this one would not grow yall (the tree would never grow). I have loved plants and green things since I was small. I had a sister that was great with plants. She had the most healthy and most beautiful plants around the County. She probably pushed my love for plants, flowers, trees up a notch or two. Dad only added to that with the gardens and the fruit trees. I am most happy when outside watching the trees blow in the wind and the lightning light up the sky. I am of course in my favorite rocking chair on my front porch. My sister has been gone from this world a long time now but my father-in-law passed in 2020. He died from Covid but fought to the end. We used the picture above of dad and his pear tree at his Memorial. Every time I see pears on the side of the road for sale, in the grocery store or somebody eating one, I think of Dad. (picture taken by me:)

Since Dad has been gone I have planted several fruit bearing trees and my pear tree is my favorite. I hope this pear tree produces. I will enjoy my grandchildren pickng and eating pears , no wasting please. When people you love pass away sure you miss them but I try to find something that was important to them and carry on with it if possible. Next summer I plan on a huge garden and I may go to The Farmers Market and see if I can sell my produce. I hope it to be a fun experience.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.