Families logo

Formula vs. Breastfeeding

Fair warning, I hate this debate

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 6 months ago • 3 min read
Formula vs. Breastfeeding
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I have three kids. All three of them are healthy babies. With my first two, I breastfed for two months before my supply would dwindle off on me. Then I would switch to formula. With my third, my milk didn't come in right away and my baby was hungry, so what did I do? Formula. I switched to formula asap because I knew he needed to eat. What did everyone in my life do? Tell me I was doing the wrong thing. Which sucked.

"Oh it's so expensive. Breastfeeding is so much cheaper."

"The nutrients your baby gets from breastmilk is crucial to their development."

"The bonding you experience with baby is so good for you."

And then there's the formula debate on which brands are the best one for your baby and whether or not you use powder or concentrate or the premixed kinds. I'm a third time mom and some of this left me speechless.

I got some push from a health nurse to pump which I never did before. But it was solely because she was pushing me to breastfeed my baby rather than making the smart choice for my infant which was just to feed him whatever I felt is best. Plus, I have two older children. I need to make sure that their needs are met as well as my newborn.

It wasn't until I spoke to a childcare worker who strictly formula fed her four children that I felt better about my body failing me this time around. I feel so safe in this choice for our family that it pushed me to write, or we'll possibly complain about this debate.

Nobody told me that my post-partum hemorrhage was the cause for my milk not coming in until a few days ago.

I thought my body was failing me.

My plan was to breastfeed. But life chose for me. I don't think that choice should be shamed.

I'm not writing this post to push formula by any means. I'm just sharing my experience with feeding my babies and the mom shame I received for formula feeding my newborn. I know the benefits of breastmilk. But formula is specifically designed with those benefits in mind. For me? Fed is best.

I have included a study in which it does state that the benefits of breastmilk did lead to healthier children, however, it ALSO states that fed is best.

Before you shame another mom or a parent for their choice on feeding their baby, make sure you understand everything. The whole story not just your own perspective and your opinion.

The amount of hate that formula moms get is ridiculous in my mind. It's not always someone's first choice and before you judge someone you should put yourself in their shoes. It's heartbreaking actually watching other parents attack others on this debate- especially on social media. I was watching a video where formula mom spoke on why she switched from breastfeeding to formula feeding and the comments broke my heart. She speaks on having to choose between her oldest children and breastfeeding because she was attached to pumps during a pre-op for her older child, and she couldn't even hug her daughter before surgery because of the pumping equipment. I wish I saved the video because it spoke volumes to me about the choice that I am making for my family. We are all just trying to do our best while raising our children.

I had to rant a little bit about this because it's driving me crazy that as a third time mom I'm getting this kind of hate for doing something that is right for my family.

It's just not everybody's first choice to formula feed and I can recognize the benefits of both sides of this debate. I just think we should all be a little kinder to people in regards to this subject. It would make the world a little bit of a nicer place.

Thank you for reading my rant.

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

If you want to see more of my newborn/pregnancy advice, check out this post I made about advice for a c-section mama.

pregnancyparentschildrenadvice

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Written by Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.