Families logo

Fear and Loathing in 2022

It's Not Yet Apocalyptic

By Elizabeth HartmanPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

When we said goodbye to 2021 we had hopes for 2022, not high hopes but we had some pretty strong desire to see 2021 disappear at least. We definitely gained some experience in life we may have preferred not to. For example, many people found their relationships tested and sadly, many did fail. Jobs were lost due to mandates or dropped like a hot plate when we all heard the now notorious word pandemic, then to vaccinate or not to. I experienced the messy job situation that had me walking away and my family and I living off our savings and stimulus checks for over a year!

It's been scary at times and a little depressing even but that had more to do with not having weekly income. Mostly it's been a huge bonding experience for myself, the love of my life, and our precocious preteen son. I would say we may be among the few that while tested, we actually clung more to each other. Yes, there were times where it was tough, but it has never been anything we couldn't work through. I am blessed with the small family I have, we do love each other fiercely.

I can't help but wonder how most of the world has truly changed in terms of how we see each other or how other families changed. The masks, the social distancing, the political divides, the overall overhaul of not just where I live but the entire world that was affected. I mean, how better or worse is it now? People say this and that via social media post but is anyone talking about their homebase? Memes and cute little summaries that are mere glimpses into someone's thoughts, days, expectations, let downs, learned lessons, being done wrong, or still searching for answers daily. How are we really?

We hopefully, can all move past the fears, past the loathing and into some kind of hope for whatever comes next because if not much else, we had to learn that we can weather some of the toughest times if we stick together. It is not easy, it is also not impossible.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Hartman

Not sure where to start but that's how creativity happens, right? I'm a mom and an army veteran. I am not the biggest fan of long walks on the beach or anywhere for that matter but I don't mind telling a good story now and then!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Elizabeth Hartman is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.