Families logo

Family is important

Being a mom

By Ezra Colton Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Being a full-time mom is so exhausting but fun. Many times we think that we will never accomplish to be good parents. We think that we are going to turn out like our parents where we thought they didn’t raise us right. What we do not realize is how much they had to struggle to take care of us where they have no money and had a hard time getting everything for us. Many times we think that we turned out to be a disappointment to our family. We may think that we are the black sheep in our family, but how can we know if many of us don’t figure out what family really is. How can we relate to family? Well we need an example as our parents struggled, they were poor, they built an entire kingdom from the bottom to the top . I remember my mom telling me that life will be hard but in reality we’re the only ones that will know how our life will look like later on in life. Our parents are the first generation to how life should’ve been but our grandparents are the ancient history of how hard life was earlier than our time. We should never underestimate family; they are the biggest blessings besides our kids. We might get scared of life and how we will turn out when we’re old whether we live a long or short life. How can you relate? Well as a kid I never got what I truly wanted, what I mean by that is having to spend time with my family instead of most of my friends. I would’ve killed more time with my mom and grandma and to know who my whole family is. My dad was only around when I was three years old and then he disappeared out of my life. How would I consider how my family should be? Well for one I love spending time with my kids and I dedicate a lot of time more than my parents ever did. I don’t blame my dad for not being there but who I do blame is my mom and my grandmother. They thought it would protect me, but in reality they hurt me from spending time with my dad. I would’ve killed more time with my dad, more time to be a daddy’s girl. I mean the love from a father is more important later on in life because we become more confident with ourselves. Family is really important to me because I wasn’t close with my family. That’s one reason why I’m a strict parent and also a loving one as well, but most importantly whether my kids think of it or not they know I love them and I do what’s best for them. Many times we think we failed as parents when your children say either “I hate you” or “you're not the boss of me”. I mean who can blame them if we’re on top of what they do every time. We only do what’s best for them and what we know they will accomplish in their life and that’s what we worry about. If we really think about it our kids are more successful then we would ever be. I never thought I would be a mom or even the thought of being a mom. I've never thought I’d ever be good at it. No one thinks we would be good parents but we try the best we can be for the ones we truly love. One day our children will thank us for what they will become in life and they will return the favor because they feel like they owe us their life. They don’t because no matter what they will always be our children and to us they will always be our babies in our hearts and in our eyes.

.

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Ezra Colton

I am a freelance writer, working mom, and great with creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.