Families logo

Embracing Personal Liberation from an Unfavorable Family

How to leave your family and embark on your own positive self journey without having to feel guilt about it

By Sherry RossPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

We can mostly all agree that it can sometimes feel strange to think about leaving your family. It goes against everything you've been told, isn't it? But hey, let's take a different approach. It will be referred to as 'Becoming like Abraham' to make it more understandable. When it comes to dealing with toxic family situations, this is a very important tip. Consider leaving because you want something different out of life rather than leaving because they are toxic and you can't stand them. Much better, right?

For those who aren't quite familiar with the legacy of Abraham, allow me to share. So, Father Abraham had many sons. That may have been taught to you in vacation Bible school or other settings. The problem is this: Abraham was called by God to become the dad of numerous countries. But you know what? He could do either. Yes, that is correct! It's not unequivocally composed, yet there's an implicit comprehension that he had a choice to make. God shared with him, "Abraham, I can make you the dad of numerous countries, yet you should leave your family, your kin and all that you know behind to become who I maintain that you should be."

Presently, Abraham might have said, "Nah God, I'm great. I intend to remain and farm with my family." He was entirely in charge. But what did he do, you ask? He mulled over everything and said, "Well, this is fascinating. I don't completely comprehend what God has anticipated me, yet I need to appear as something else. Even though it seems crazy and impossible, I want to embrace a new life."

The key point here is that Abraham's decision was not based on his family's negative or toxic qualities. It was about him needing to carry on with life contrastingly and come out better personally. Also, that is where I as well as some of you need to concentrate.

The point I want to make is as follows: You don't have to despise your family or consider them to be bad people to leave them. That might be one way to look at it, but doing so frequently brings with it feelings of guilt and shame. Society and culture condition us to trust that it's disrespecting to leave our folks with such pessimism.

But you know what? There is still another perspective. All that matters is how you want to live your life and who you are. It all comes down to becoming the person you want to be. That is the reason the account of Abraham is so significant.

You are not abandoning your family out of resentment when you leave them. Instead, you are reflecting and declaring, "I want something different. I want to live a life free of the patterns and routines of my family. I want to free myself and figure out my own path."

Yes, there is a risk. It's possible that you won't know what lies ahead, and the journey could be difficult. Similar to Abraham, who traveled for a long time, lived in poverty and slept in tents. In any case, learn to expect the unexpected. He didn't let that stop him. He detested being like his family. You also shouldn't.

So remember friends, keep this in mind: It is not necessary to hate your family to leave them. It's about accepting a different path and future. It's about making the decision to live a life that is true to your own goals and dreams. Trust me when I say that it's hard, but it's worth it.

Be brave, keep the Abraham mindset and refuse to settle for a life that is constrained by the past. You are in control of your own destiny.

valuessiblingsparentsimmediate familyhow toadvice
Like

About the Creator

Sherry Ross

I was born and raised in sunny Los Angeles, California. I enjoy red velvet cupcakes, poetry, spoken word and reruns of The Golden Girls.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.