Families logo

Dreams Of - The Blind Lady

Dreams hold meanings but i cant quite figure out what mine mean.

By Willow PeddyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Dreams Of  - The Blind Lady
Photo by Ryoji Iwata on Unsplash

People say dreams have meanings and emotions. I believe this for the ordinary people with ordinary dreams but hey I'm so not ordinary and my dreams well let's say they couldn't be anything less than ordinary. take a look for yourself

30th January 2021

First entry to My Dream Diary

Was a usual night nothing to report. Stayed up binge-watching Fate: The Winx saga. Quite good too if you ask me. So I finished the whole season and thought I should sleep, it was 23:35 anyway. I drifted off and on awake here, asleep there. The nights are all the same but when my imagination comes alive and my dreams make their own stories.

It started off with me and my mum. We were delivering pizza, pepperoni pizza to be precise, late at night probably 11ish but hard to tell when your dreaming. I'd parked on the side of the road, didn't bother locking the car as we weren't going to belong. We delivered the pizza to the beings behind the door and turned back. I see my door open and a man throwing my stuff around. I screamed 'stop'. He froze and looked up locking eye contact with me, then he bolted! I would have run after him but I'm no Usain Bolt. That man stole my £4! I needed that for parking goddammit.

Frustrated I turned to my mum she was holding a white cane... you know the ones visibly impaired people use. I was so confused about where this come from. Who's was it, where did they go? So many questions and no answers. My mum started running around the doors like a mad lady trying to find the one who needs and owes the cane. It was when we were walking down a driveway did we see her. A talk yet stocky lady probably mid 60's to be polite. She was walking out her door not looking not seeing but feeling. Tapping her feet, shuffling them forwards, her hands in front tapping the air. We ran towards her seeing where she was heading. The steps. The drop to her left. So much potential danger and she doesn't even know it!

We yelled across the road hoping she will hear us and stop she didn't. We ran, fast, just approaching the driveway seeing her foot on the edge. We yelled stop again, this time she looked up but her foot slipped. We got there just in time to catch her from falling. Yes, I know you're not supposed to stop people but it's an instinct you just help even if it means putting yourself at risk too.

Obviously, she was startled but we calmed her down gave her the cane, and assisted her inside. Her place was big yet small she had stacks of old newspapers everywhere taking up space. All she had was a single armchair directly by the door and nothing else. Bare walls, no tv, no other furniture just a foul smell lurking around from something somewhere.

We spoke for a while with her, still don't know her name, she was sweet nice and shy ever so shy and I soon found out why. It was her son he rang the phone which I discovered right next to her chair on the floor all I heard was shouting down the line. Taking the phone I just informed him of the little care we had provided and that we had made her a cup of tea. Oh how out of line I was, he yelled at me telling me it wasn't my place, how she was fine, how we needed to leave. I was shocked, to say the least, no words could describe my feelings to an individual who cared so little about the wellbeing of his own mother.

We stayed for a little while longer but had to leave. I made it my duty to phone someone with regards to her condition and living alone.

The evening went on and the deliveries were steady, we were on our final round. That was when I saw that guy again the one who stole my £4! He had glasses on, a baseball cap, baggy dirty dark blue jeans, and a bomber jacket on. I am sure his jacket was black but the memory gets a bit foggy. He wasn't looking at me nor where we stood...he was looking at my car again. Seriously what was so good about my car the money wasn't even inside it, it was in my pockets and well the pizza was already inside someone's house. Other than that just a few empty food packets and empty bottles that were about all on display! Luckily just as I was approaching the car again at a faster pace than Mister wannabe Usain Bolt who was still eyeing up my vehicle, we got in and drove off to the train station. I knew there would be a police officer somewhere there and I was going to report that man for suspicious activities and theft!

The dream from here gets hectic, the wannabe Usain bolt guy manages to find us at the station and follows us all around.

And that was the dream that stole my night from me.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Willow Peddy

I am a 24yr old, looking for something in life to bring a spark of excitement and bring back my artistic and imaginative flare :)

I have strange and crazy dreams and people always tell me to write them down so here goes my dream diary!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.