Families logo

Dr Seuss; The Maker of Dreams

And Creator of Imagination

By J.B. MillerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5
Dr Seuss; The Maker of Dreams
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

'One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish' (Dr Seuss, 1960)

It was the first book I read. In those long-ago dim memories of near infanthood, I can still remember sitting on the living room floor. Pulling my worn and well-loved copy of One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish out from between The Little Golden Books, it shared a home with.

Listening To My Mothers Voice

Before I could read the words myself, my mother read them to me. Day after day, often twice or thrice. I'm sure she was fed up with that book by night. (Sorry, I couldn't resist the rhyme.)

But it is a poignant memory. I was three or four at the time. Definitely an early reader. I know I was reading Dr Seuss by the age of four. He was my drug of choice. Oh, don't get me wrong. The Pokey Little Puppy and The Scrawny Lion were high on my list as well. But nothing compared to the King of children's literature, Dr Seuss.

I read that book until it fell apart, then cried and refused any other until my mother bought me another. There was something about the rhymes and rhythm of the stories that enchanted me. Years later, I realised how much more the books said than the silly words and whimsical drawings portrayed.

By Drew Perales on Unsplash

I became a writer

I would not be here writing this article if it was not for Dr Seuss and One, Fish, Two Fish. The obsession I had with reading that story and the multitude of others that stemmed from that single book; turned into a lifetime love affair.

I began writing before I could write. There were stories that lived in my head, but I had no way to get them out. Oh, I told my mom. That poor woman had her ear talked off daily.

She would give me some paper to draw on, and instead, I would lay on the floor scribbling lines in a parody of writing a story. I knew what I was writing, it was all in my head, but since I had no idea how to put those words onto paper, I instead pretended to write them. It was okay; I knew what they said. Even if no one else could read the words, I had written.

I was quiet, so mom was happy.

Hours could be spent scribbling away on pieces of paper, creating those stories. With my box of Crayola with its pencil sharpener made into the box, the world was my oyster.

By Taylor Heery on Unsplash

Every night, mom would let me colour and write until bedtime. Then she would let me choose a book to read. I'm sure by now, you can guess my choice!

We read on the couch in the living room. I would suck my thumb and twist my wispy blonde hair while mom read those simple rhymes to me. Every time, we got to the part, 'Ask your mother'. I would pop my thumb out and ask. 'Mama, whys are they all different?'

Because

That was her usual answer. 'Just because,' She would often say. Now I remember the exasperation in her voice, but back then, she knew all things.

'Because why?' Everyone knows 'because' is not an acceptable answer for any child.

'Because that's the way God made them. Now listen up if you want me to finish the story.' That threat worked every time.

A Family Tradition

It has been over forty years since I took those first hesitant but eager steps into reading. I have forgotten more than I will ever remember, but never those moments with my mom and Dr Seuss.

When I became a mom for the first time in 2003, I began buying books. As you might imagine, Dr Seuss was one of my first purchases. It was a struggle, though, at the time.

Immigrated to The UK

I moved to Scotland in 1999. and when I went looking for the books, I discovered that Dr Seuss was not well known there! It was horrifying. This was in the early days of Amazon, so everything was not at my fingertips.

I called my mother. I was determined that I would have her ship me my books from when I was little if all else failed. Don't look shocked. They are books; one does not dispose of books, ever.

Luckily, I did find it online and carried on the tradition of Dr Seuss in my own family. My boys grew out of being read to or even reading. It was a dagger to my heart when I realised that the boys did not enjoy reading for fun. How could they even be my children!

However, my female child was born in 2012, and she has a voracious appetite for the written word. Together we have carried on the tradition and have even written stories together.

I am eternally grateful for Dr Seuss. He planted a seed in my heart that grew into a strong passion. One that has been passed onto at least one of my children.

If you have not had the pleasure of reading One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, here is a link to the story on YouTube. It is a must-read for children and adults of all ages.

book reviews
5

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.