Families logo

Don’t be like your elder sister

a letter of love and encouragement to her younger brother

By Miss Miso Published 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
Don’t be like your elder sister
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Dear younger brother,

I know life can be tiring and hard. You work to support yourself without family close contact. I don’t blame you for working solely for yourself. It’s for your own good so it’s okay. So long you’re in good health.

Due to the family's circumstances we don’t have the kind of happy family together. All seems to be a pretense when we celebrate an occasion though we seldom have one. To the point we don't celebrate anymore.

I hope you will be able to find your partner. That you will have a long lasting relationship. That you connect with people as much as possible. Don’t be lonely by yourself.

If you are lonely you can find things to have fun. Like maybe you would like to go on a trip. Or you might like to have hobbies like doing sports. It would be a healthy lifestyle.

Don’t blame others that we are raised poor and that we have a broken family. Though I can't deny it's hard to not blame sometimes we still have to carry over and move past. Just think of it as a source of strength not to undergo such sad moments.

I'm sure it's not right to just throw and say to be happy totally but nevertheless I do hope you will find what your hearts desire. That you find happiness and joy in what you're doing now.

Don’t be like me, your elder sister that is stubborn and does only what’s easy.

Don’t be like me, easily distracted by things not productive.

Don’t be like me, that’s impulsive and didn’t take that courage to see it through to the end.

Don’t be like me who is hard headed and only believes in herself despite the advice of others.

Don’t be like me, that gives up halfway.

Don’t be like me, which takes refuge and depends on others' decisions.

Don’t be like me that always procrastinates.

Don’t be like me who is complacent and indifferent.

People's connection is very important in building your career, yourself to be a better person.

Don’t be like me that didn’t have the courage to change. To be in comfort now doesn’t mean it's okay. Think hard about what you really want to be in the near future. What you really want to do.

Don’t be like me, whose only bark but no bite in other words, shallow promises and empty words.

Don’t forget it can be hard whatever it is you are doing now, don't give up. When you feel like it’s going to be hard, that’s one step to your goals. See it through to the end. I assure you, you will feel a change for the better version of you than yesterday.

Hope you have a successful journey. May you reach your goals and dreams in life.

Love,

Your elder sister

P.S Someday I would like us to have a meal together with the others. To celebrate something together and go on trips to local places and abroad. Go on adventures with the family. It would be wonderful. I just hope it will not end with just wishful thinking but to come true in the near future.

P.S.S I would like you see stable and happy with your life together with your own family. I would love to see my nephews running around, growing pretty and handsomely in my huge house with a wide patio and balcony any day you come to visit. Go shopping and eat together in restaurants.

My biggest wish for each of us depicts fulfillment and joy. It might seem just a fairy tale however if not that close at least we have established this kind of connection than ever was.

valuessiblingsimmediate familyhumanityadvice
Like

About the Creator

Miss Miso

I'm a novice writer. I don't have a Stripe yet (not supported in my country), In the hopes that you may consider supporting my writings.

paypal.me/NoriMeaMiso

Love to hear what you think to improve my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.