Families logo

Do you want to build a snowman?

In the midst of current events a little girl can still be a child.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Jayla’s snowman

The world is reeling from soaring coronavirus cases and deaths. Americans are trying to come to grips with the mob that stormed the White House and trashed offices of elected officials. Children can no longer attend school or pursue their extracurricular activities as they did prior to 20/20. In the mist of the chaos and uncertainty my granddaughter Jayla did something simple yet amazing. This bright 8 year old made a determination to just be a kid. Jayla Grace decided to build a snowman. Her mom sent me the photo earlier today after we received about an inch of snow in our city. This action by my granddaughter reminded me that we all need to stop for a few moments, take the time and have the presence of mind to call forth our inner child.

We cannot remain on auto pilot, and walk around shell shocked by recent events. It’s bad enough that most young people today do not know how to be real children. I noticed during the past few Christmases that I did not see boys and girls anywhere outside with their holiday gifts. I went out of town this past Christmas and there were several inches of snow on the ground. During my 3 hour round trip through 4 counties I saw not one child outside on skates., scooters, or bikes.

There was no sign of boys and girls playing with walkie talkies, remote control cars, making snow angels, or building snowmen. My own children grew up as their father and I did where you played in the snow until you could not feel your fingers and toes. I understand that children today give up toys at earlier ages. I know too well that boys and girls in this dispensation of time prefer their electronic gadgets to toys. I felt myself mourning for what has been lost and may never be recovered.

Mu grandchildren have their fair share of video game and hand held systems. They use laptops and tablets c but I am so thankful they still know how to be children and play outside. Often when I take them on walks or when I took them to the local parks before the coronavirus they were the only children there. COVID-19 has robbed the parks, woods, and bike trails of children this past summer and now it’s the Grinch that stole Christmas.

Boys and girls were inside their homes in December because of the coronavirus and the trend of handheld systems and interactive gaming My precious Jayla making the snowman indicates that she was not inside glued to the televion Neither was she playing interactive games with friends on her Nintendo Switch. She was not obsorbed in Fort Night, Animal Crossing , or Among Us which are very popular and also addictive.

When I saw Jayla and her snowman in that picture I immediately thought of the song from the animated movie Frozen. I found myself singing the question, “Do you want to build a snowman?” I thought of all the children inside behind closed doors today instead of playing outdide and getting fresh air, sunshine and exercise. I wished I could sing to each and every child the lyrics from the song where Anna addresses her sister Elsa with:

Do you wanna build a snowman?

C'mon let's go and play!

I never see you anymore, come out the next door, it's like you've gone away…

It’s sad to think that so many children don’t want to come outside the doors and play. It truly is as if they have gone away. This is why the image of Jayla means so much to me. She took the time to build her own little snowman without the help of her 2 older brothers Come on world let’s follow Jayla’s example. If you don’t have the opportunity to build an actual snowman then find something creative that you can do and get to work on it. They say a picture is worth a thousand word and I believe this image of Jayla speaks volumes. The world is filled with uncertainty and yet in the midst a little girl can build herself a snowman. He’s just her size and that’s what makes him special. Jayla stuck to what she could do and did not set herself up for failure by trying to create one that was out of her reach. All is not lost because kids can still be kids when they put their minds to it.

children
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.