Families logo

Dear Mom and Dad

Growing up...

By Grace SharpPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Since I was little I have always looked up to you. I have always hoped and dreamed of growing up, and being in a happy marriage just like y'all's one day. You've always been the ones to look out for my siblings and I. In the back of my mind though, I've also always wondered how y'all did it. I mean since we were little we were always a handful, many people can only imagine what it would be like to have four kids running around. As kid I never truly understood how much you guys dealt with. Now that I am 18 and just starting to get a glimpse of life outside of high school I'm starting to understand. Granted, a lot of it has to do with a class that I am taking this year called Money Matters. In this class the teacher teaches us about taxes, buying our first car, an apartment, getting a job, and everything that you could possibly think of to send a student into the real world. This past week I opened my first bank account, and applied for my first job. I'm not going to lie I am terrified to grow up. In the back of my head I've always said that I can't wait to get out of high school, but now the time is nearing, I'm not so sure. I'm scared to grow up. For the past two years I have felt like life is just passing me by and there is nothing that I can do about it. It's funny... how growing up you always heard older adults telling to "slow down", "life will go by faster than you think," or "you'll be old before you know it." I used to never believe, I thought that I had all the time in the world. Turns out I don't. It feels like just the other day I was a freshmen terrified to be in high school, yet counting down the days till graduation too. Honestly though, the past two years have been the fastest years of my life. I have done so much in such little time, and I know that I am extremely successful for my age. I am so grateful for that. I've gone to multiple national competitions, heck I shoot competition air rifle as a sport at my high school. You don't hear that very often these days. I've learned to fly and airplane, and had my first three solo's. I am the Commanding Officer of a unit, and I just became an ambassador for two amazing companies. I can only imagine what the future holds. I am so excited, but still scared. I am so grateful to have parents like you in my life. You two have always supported me, and what I want to do. Not only that but you've allowed me to take pretty much every amazing opportunity that I have been offered, and you've provided me with some yourselves. I cannot thank you guys enough. Even though I am scared to grow up, I know that you will always be here for me whenever I need you. Mom and dad you are an absolute blessing in life. I wouldn't be where I am without y'all. I know that there is a lot in store for the future. Y'all have raised me right, and other people can vogue for me on that one. I hope that in the next few years I make you proud. I know that you are already proud of me, but I hope that even when I move out one day, and start my life, that you are still proud. I hope that when I don't have y'all around all the time to influence me and the decisions I make that y'all still think that I am doing the right things. I hope that if you think that I straying from the right trail that you push me back on it. Thank you for everything. I may be scared, but I know that everything will be okay. Thank you for always believing in me and pushing me to be the best version of me that I can me. I love you mom and dad. Forever and always.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.