Families logo

Dear Grandpa

Growing up without a dad, you filled his shoes with ease.

By Dovile MiliauskaitePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Curious little me

Dear Grandpa,

You are an Aquarius just like me - calm, optimistic, and a self-sufficient introvert. I remember you telling me that if I was ever in a meaningless argument or fight, to simply turn around and walk away. And I listened, maybe a bit too well.

Now, whenever I am in these situations, I try to get away; I drive, I run, I walk away like you taught me. I never know where to go or to whom, but I realized a little something as I am writing you this letter - I run to get to you to tell me that it will pass and everything will be okay. I run to your comfort and your calm outlook on the world. Although we are separated by 4578 miles, I still run to you. Any time I am trying to calm myself down, in my subconscious mind, the faint voice is you doing your best to make everything okay again.

One of our weekly Skype calls

You served in war, you have seen the genocide unfold and told me the stories; I do not understand how you kept your optimistic side after seeing all the horrible things throughout your 87 years of life. You are not only a hero to our country, Lithuania, but you are a hero to me.

You taught me all the right things. You had patience when I did not. You sparked so many interests in me, like a father should. You helped to shape me into the person I am today and I am so grateful to have had you throughout my life and to know you.

I still think about all the times we went for walks when I was a child and you would always find a bird to point at and tell me all the characteristics of that bird: their name, what they like to eat, how long they live, what time of the year they lay eggs or migrate. How did you know so much about hundreds of bird species? I am yet to ask you.

One of our exciting walks

If we were having a lazy day, the channel about nature, animals, or planet would always be on and I was fascinated. You would know facts about the animals I have never seen or heard of - in my young eyes that was the most impressive thing I have ever known. It still is. You instilled in me to always be curious and question things. To keep my inner child alive by feeding her information. Now, it explains why I have the need to research everything.

No one is perfect but you were a perfect father to me growing up, even though I call you grandpa. You showed up when my biological father failed to fill his own shoes. You stepped up when I needed to learn how to count and how to tell which letter was which. I was 4 when I first started to read, thanks to you, grandma, and my mom. Once I learned, I couldn't stop reading everything that had writing on it: billboards as we passed them, news papers, subtitles on TV. I read it faster than I could comprehend it. Maybe I have lost most of the excitement of a child but I still have my curiosity; I must keep that alive, to keep part of you alive, within me.

No wonder the only memories I have of you are sunny and warm as I go back in time to relive them. They are colorful, vivid, and it smells of mid spring. That time is my favorite, but autumns, winters, and summers are beautiful too. You are the one that taught me that the nature prepares in fall to go for a long rest covering up with a blanket of frost and snow to keep warm during winter which in turn prepares itself to come alive again in spring. Summers are the end of it all, like the last party the nature has before everything prepares to sleep again.

Most of my core memories look like this: green, sunny, smiley

You are one of the main reasons I remember my childhood like this; you are the reason I still see nature in such a magical and comforting way.

So thank you for being my hero, for filling my fathers shoes, and all the ordinary walks turned into magical and adventurous lessons. Thank you for making my childhood be the one full of wonder and curiosity, teaching me to be kind and gentle to our fellow creature friends, and helping me see the world in a positive light, just like you do.

I love you.

Your granddaughter,

Dovile

Thank you for taking time to read my open letter; if you enjoyed reading "Dear Grandpa", follow the link to check out my other work: https://vocal.media/authors/dovile-miliauskaite

I sincerely appreciate any support and welcome my reader's thoughts & suggestions. I hope I left an impression however big or small - see you in the next story! :)

grandparents
4

About the Creator

Dovile Miliauskaite

I have found writing extremely therapeutic & when I write, it sometimes comes out in rhyme.

My goal is to explore my creative side; once ideas flush my mind, I pledge to write and share them with the world. :)

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.