Families logo

Dads

A slice of my life by L.A. Moore

By L.A. Moore - NashPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Pixabay: https://www.pexels.com/photo/baby-child-father-fingers-451853/

I met my dad when I was six years old. It didn't start that way, though. He was a total stranger. And before I knew it, he was my dad. It didn't always feel like he was my dad, though. Many times, my brain wanted a fight, and we did. We had lots of arguments. My brain often told me to storm out and walk or run away. And I did.

It wasn't until I graduated high school and moved away and into my grandma's and aunt's houses that I realized I wanted to be able to be me. And to have peace. I wanted to have time to let my brain process what was going on with it and to be able to focus on my school work.

When I was little, a lot was going on. I have no perception of time, but when I can focus, I have an acute focus on it when something important needs to be done. Like when I had to write a paper in elementary school for some Halloween-themed thing. It's mostly what gave me the love of writing. I always got 100s on my essays and research papers. Now, I don't get so much as a few readers. Such is life.

My dad was partially deaf from working in the oil fields, so we always had a loud T.V. going on during the day. It made me hyper-focus on the noise. And that made focusing on school work even harder.

I have a rough relationship with my dad. That's also because my dad isn't my biological father. He was around but not a lot. He'd have a manic attack, leave and end up in jail. He only really came around to get a few specific things that those types want to get.

Then my other dad showed up. He and I are on good terms now. He stuck by my mom through all the rough spots no matter what happened. She and I both have depression, and we need people like my dad. She's never been on any kind of anti-depressant like I have. But she deals with it ok enough. He's always there to help when and how he can. And in his way, he holds space for her.

I learned SO much from both of them. I understood that I didn't want to be like either of them. I wanted to be myself—my beautiful, intelligent self. I wanted to go back to school, get my degree, and have a great career that I love doing. Even if my ADHD gets in the way, I learned that even if things get loud, persevere through it to get done with what you need. I knew that even if change and challenges come into your life, keep moving forward.

And then there was my grandfather. He taught me not to be so severe unless I had to be serious. And when I had to be serious to get it done. And when things get tough figure it out and fix it.

He was the one who made me feel like a family-like home was wherever he was.

I didn't become a dad. I was only like one to my daughter when her dad was figuring out his place in her life. He's a great dad. We co-parent so well. He does so much cool stuff with her. They're going camping soon. I hope she likes it.

My brother is also a dad. He loves his little girl so much too. She's growing up so fast. She and my son were going to be the same age. She arrived on earth a lot sooner. I'm sure they'll be great friends anyway.

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

L.A. Moore - Nash

Mom of two great small people.

https://lamoorenash.wordpress.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.