Families logo

COVID-Schooling How-To Guide

You can take this as satire, or take this as a perfectly thought-out deal! That choice is yours! (I cannot be held liable...)

By Nightingale SilvaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
COVID-Schooling How-To Guide
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

As a mom who has two children and has run her own daycare in the past, never did I think to myself, “Gee, I want to be a teacher.” Nope, never thought that not even once. But the year is 2021 (2020 part II), where every day is like “opposite day” and nothing makes sense anymore. I was working still when school started back up and had made the decision to have my oldest do virtual learning because I felt she was responsible enough to do so since she is 12 years old. The youngest's school wanted to make it difficult for her to do, so I just pulled her from school, “Like, that's fine, I'll just homeschool her, no big deal”, right? I was homeschooled for the better part of my childhood, so I have some context of how it works. When I tell you I bit off more than I could chew, I'm not kidding.

Fast track a month, I got laid off from my job due to Coronavirus (of course) and now I'm here at home with the kiddos. Come to find out the oldest was failing and I had to act fast to fix that, and the youngest just did not want to do any school work even though she claimed to have mommy for a teacher was AWESOME. So here I am several months later and still surviving (barely). Those of you who are dealing with all of this as well, I feel for you, and you are not alone. I come bearing a few ways to help with virtual learning/homeschooling!

Caffeine

This is the one rule I cannot stress enough. If you don't like coffee or energy drinks, learn to love them because they will be your life's fuel from now on. Just as your car needs gasoline to pump through its engine to get going, you, my friend, will need that caffeine pumping through your veins! Before you even THINK about waking up your kids, you get that cup of coffee or that energy drink. Without the magic that is caffeine, you won't be able to even understand your children's morning rambles or be able to wrestle them out of their nice, cozy beds. Caffeine equals strength, strength equals power, and power means you can do this! At least until you need more caffeine...

Scheduling is Key

Now this one is serious — Scheduling. Kids respond better when they are on some sort of timeframe. Going to bed at the same time consistently, waking up at the same time every morning, even having their meals around the same time each day helps. Also, if you have more than one kiddo, it may be a good idea to do separate school schedules as well. For example, my oldest does better first thing in the morning, so she starts her schooling at 8 AM. My youngest takes a bit to wake up and is the exact opposite of a morning person, so she does her schooling in the afternoon after she's had her lunch.

Patience

This is probably the hardest one. You must be patient. I know kids can be trying (God, do I know...), but take a break if you have to, breathe, and count to ten. There is nothing wrong with taking a break. Give them a small break too, to take a breather and step away from any situation that may escalate. You have to remember that kids are little people too and also need to take some breathers every once in a while. Don't worry, you've got this.

A Reward System is a Good System

If your kids have done good in their schooling for that day, let them know their hard work is appreciated! Give them their favorite candy or let them play their favorite game, something that will make a good reward for that child in particular. Or you can even reward them at the end of the week if you'd like. Say they did a grand job Monday through Friday, reward them on the weekend with a nice fun family outing, something they would enjoy the most. It could be a trip to their favorite park or out to eat at their favorite restaurant.

And last but not least...

Wine

Okay, so maybe you don't need this one, maybe you do, who am I to judge? Why not reward YOURSELF at the end of the day once the kids are put to bed? Pour yourself a nice glass of wine (or beer... or a mixed drink... again, no judgment here), have a relaxing bath, read your favorite book, treat yo'self! You did a good job too! If you can't take good care of yourself, how do you expect to take good care of others? Just know you're not alone, and you've got this. Cheers to you, momma/daddy, cheers to you!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Nightingale Silva

Just a simple being who loves writing, makeup, witchcraft, art, & video games <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.