Families logo

COMING 2 AMERICA

Why I needed this film.

By Jocelyn WhaleyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
COMING 2 AMERICA
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

I want to thank Eddie Murphy for making the sequel to one of my all time favorite films. Now that I am an adult, I can understand his vision more clearly, and how important he is for the culture. Murphy makes movies about the black experience using comedic situations. I have been entertained my entire by his brilliance. Some of my other favorites include "Harlem Nights", "Boomerang", “Trading Places”and "Norbit". The important part about his films that I appreciate, you can learn a life lesson, and laugh at the same time. I can go on and on about my love for his creativity. I have been a fan since I saw him on "Saturday Night Live" as kid. I know I'm telling my age, but that was one of my mom's favorite shows, and if I were up, I got to watch him live! Hate him or love him, Murphy is a cinematic genius who knows how to entertain.

Just like the original, the sequel represents a royal family ruling the land of Zamunda. Just like Wakanda, Zamunda is a beautiful place that I fantasize about visiting! I appreciate the real African culture and the importance of continuing traditions and legacies, this film represents. Besides holiday's, it is no longer normal for people to have personal family traditions, past down from the ancestors.

We’re introducing to Meeka and her sisters the royal children of King Akeem. I loved watching the children being treated as royalty, respected and trained to be female warriors. We didn’t experience teen moms being abused, living a life of poverty or neglected. How often are we entertained by this? Hollywood has constantly reminds us that black females are the least protected and respected. Being strong is the black woman's anthem, due to her trauma. This film flipped the script on the stereotypical black female lifestyle. Meeka was being trained by her father to one day be a ruler of their country. We experienced a princess being groomed to one day be a queen.

Prince Akeem had a one night stand while in America, and created a son. He was told this information, while watching his father transition. Now the ruler of Zamunda, King Akeem traveled back to America, to get his only male child. Labella was given the opportunity to have a better life, and more than what he expected. Growing up Lavelle had uncle Reem showing him how to be a man and scammer. The film highlights importance of a positive role models during the adolescent years. He's 31 years old, and when asked by his step-mother Queen Lisa, what he did while living in Queens, he response wasn't shocking. He was just getting by, and in between opportunities. An example of how our environments affects our decision making and motivation with life. Not to say he wasn't trying, but we all know that in America you need a master degree and 20 years experience for a customer service job.

Even though he never knew his father, he didn't expect him to be King in an African country. King Akeem needed to continue on the tradition of a male running the country, after he’s gone. Lavelle's birthright is to one day be king. King Akeem made it a point to allow Lavelle to make his own decisions and be a man. This was a strong lesson. Most powerful men control their children with money and threaten to not support them, if they don't have control of their lives. Everyone should be given the opportunity to live the life they want, not controlled by money and power.

Lavelle fell in love with a woman that worked for him. The royal family has arranged marriages, but Lavell wanted the woman with her own ambitions in life. Not a woman that was groomed to be controlled by him. Mirembe is the woman that is encouraging and supporting Lavelle. She isn't using manipulation or sex to control him for a better life. She respected her position and made sure he wasn't going to use her as a side piece. The majority of the time we see woman accept being second in a rich and powerful man's life. Lavelle was also supporting Mirembe and encouraging her to follow her dreams.

Too often we see a one sided situation. A woman making sure her man's needs comes first, losing her sense of self, and giving up on her dreams. I loved how Lavelle wanted her to have a different opportunity also. After awhile, Lavell assumed he was being used by Akeem. This was why Lavell and Mirembe decided to leave immediately. They ran away to America to create a life together.

We saw a friendship develop first, not a codependency based on a trauma bond or hidden agendas. Real friendships between men and women who understand each other, can lead to real love.

Another great lessons in this film is to watch a non traditional blended family, make it work. King Akeem has a queen in his castle, but he also embraced the mother of his child. Even though Label’s mother is a wild one, started a little drama, she got herself together. It was refreshing to see how important it is for the women to get along, and be able to coexist. This type of situation is confusing for a dysfunctional mindset to process as normal. The women developing a friendship and not enemies based on the situation, shows growth and stability. Why isn't this highlighted more often on film? Good situations between woman that have a man in common, do exist. I'm not condoning having babies and creating broken homes, as okay. I'm focused on the reality of the situation working out. It is always important for people do what is best for the children, and not their emotions. Reality show's are based on woman hating each other. This is considered real entertainment for millions of people on a daily basis. Its hard for me to understand why the broken family is considered a normal situation in real life for, entertainment purposes. Majority of people see their dysfunctional life being played out in TV/films. Dysfunctional situations have bigger audiences, when art imitates real life.

“Coming 2 America” gave me the positive vibes I needed. Plus I got to chuckle, and anything that makes me laugh, I love.

I've read so many reviews about this film. I'm not sure why people want to criticize a move that shines a positive light on the black experience. Something to make us smile, laugh and learn. I have seen enough movies about the traumatic and dysfunctional lives of black families. Would it be more entertaining to see a black man struggle and running from the police? Should we continue to clutch our pearls as we watch black females get abused and fight society? Run-a-way slaves trying to get to the promise land? Should we be marching and fighting for our equal rights, in real life and for entertainment, always? Or should we be on film killing each other with gang violence and drugs? Hollywood doesn't always put black culture in a positive light. Why do we have so many options to watch black people centered around these situations?

I salute Eddie Murphy for not making another film that drains my energy or make me angry. This film made me feel proud to be the descendent of kings and queens. Maybe I think too deep for the average person, and stay on a high vibration, or misunderstood. My spirit will not allow me to hate this film. I honestly hope we get a part 3 in the future.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.