Families logo

Christmas is Almost Over

You would think the middle of January would be the end of Christmas!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
5
Christmas is Almost Over
Photo by Manny Becerra on Unsplash

On our trip to meet one of our older boys at a place an hour and a half away we talked about planning a motorcycle trip for the week of the fourth of July. It has been a good week to be on the bikes in years past.

We haven't been on trips recently because of other plans. Due to health complications, I didn't ride much at all last year. He asked if I thought I could do a week on bikes and of course I can! I told him that if we plan it now it is more apt to work out than if we don't plan it! Have you ever noticed that?

The other thing I reminded him of was how the Mr. and Mrs. Santa Clause on motorcycles still hang on the fireplace, even though he put away the rest of the Christmas decorations. He thought they could be up all year! I said, probably not!

We will see. I understand a bit better after health complications why the children think we should trade our motorcycles for a convertible or something a bit safer. I have a 1300 Vstar and my hubby has a 1900 Stratoliner. He refers to my bike as little red riding hood and his as the blue hulk.

The size of my bike is bigger than most. His is one of the largest, if not the biggest. I like my bike because it has a great seat and the wind won't blow me around, even in a strong wind. I feel safer on my bike. I have had several others.

Something to look forward to is fine with me! I am almost 70 and why not. What is the worst thing that could happen? Between our trip today and playing Santa yesterday for our daughter's children who didn't make our get-together last Saturday, I am almost done with Christmas.

The last one is my son whose dad had the stint put in after a heart attack. How could he be anywhere else? The youngest got back in time, while the oldest stayed behind until everything was good!

So, he, and his wife are left. The kids, probably not. They are all adults with full lives, and I don't get to see much of them! I can give cards to him for them. I am so looking forward to being done with Christmas.

It was cold and our car acted up a little on the way home. Nothing serious and still we had no idea what was wrong. It did start though and we made it home safe and sound.

When talking with the hubby's oldest boy, it was so clear that he has a lot of his dad's thoughts about Christmas. If he wasn't raising his grandchildren, he wouldn't celebrate Christmas. He suggested that we stop providing Christmas gifts and having get-togethers just for Christmas.

I told his dad that our grandchildren expect us to have a tree up and decorations when they stop by. It isn't just for me, although I would have decorations even if no one stopped by. Just for me!

He lifts weights and the tree is in the spot where his weight bench usually sits. I think that is the real reason he can be such a humbug about Christmas!

He is so pleased with himself for taking the tree down and putting everything away before I even notice. Then he will say, "Did you notice anything different!" Of course, I noticed as soon as I came into the room! He wants to be able to say, "See, you didn't even notice!"

Not yet! Maybe one day he will get his way! But I doubt it!

Holidayparentsimmediate familygrandparentsfeaturechildren
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Oooo, Little Red Riding Hood and Blue Hulk! I love those names! Enjoy your ride!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Wonderful holiday story!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.