Families logo

Christmas 2022

My Christmas Letter

By Lea SpringerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
Christmas  2022
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Christmas Eve morning & forecasters' warning

Snow squalls & high winds for the next 24

Stay put, don't leave home, or even open your door!

The storm it was massive and snow fell in loads

Piling drifts and ice masses on highways & roads

With no end to its havoc for the next few days

The best way to travel would be riding on sleighs.

Not heeding advice, I opened my screen door

Peering at drifts created the night before

The wind blew a gust, and the door it did thrust.

With hinges now broken, the screen door's ajar

Crookedly hanging so it won't close too far.

Our trip was delayed and finally ditched

(Better the trip in the ditch than ourselves, we admit)

But one was determined to fight thru the storm

And planned to bring dinner to all we forlorn.

In marched our hero bearing crockpot afore

With roast beef and potatoes, and veggies galore

Then ventured he out in the storm once more

To gather the others for the meal instore.

Our meal was delicious did everyone say

As all had brought food that they'd cooked for the day.

Meatballs from Leena and Erin brought drinks

Lea had salad and shrimp, pearly pinks.

The last bites were swallowed as Jeff looked outside

Snow falling much thicker he woefully eyed.

For everyone's safety he was quick to decide

T'was time to be going for those needing a ride.

No time for the coffee or cakes we agreed

Leftovers packed for each person's need.

Feet shoved into boots and coats flung onto backs

And into the storm of the night cold & black.

Presents unopened in the living room wait

For the day when the storm finally decides to abate.

We'll wait until then, what else can we do?

For all through the night it snowed and it blew.

Christmas Day

This morning's no better with the wind's steady blow

My neighbor's out clearing my driveway of snow.

I feared that my back door had frozen quite tight

But it opened and closed to my grateful delight.

The front door still opens at least for a foot

An exit it offers but I'd soon be caput.

I'd sink into snow should I venture that route

Trying in vain to find my way out.

My front deck is buried within 4-foot-high drift

The bench totally immersed & not possible to shift.

What I'm needing right now at my snow-covered hovel

Is someone of strong back with a huge, great big shovel!

Going to take out the garbage tonight

The back door did open, but then not shut tight.

I called for assistance that thankfully came

From Bill & his son though I don't know his name.

He used all his strength to pull the door tight

So now I'll sleep safely in bed tonight!

Boxing Day

The storm has now broken but the sky's still grey,

But to exit outside I still have no way.

My arm is so tender and achingly sore

From battling last night with frozen back door.

I'm patiently waiting for stores to unlock

Home Depot, I'm hoping storm doors are in stock.

I'll buy one real quick, the top of the line

For price is no object at this point in time.

Thank you & sorry for the hokey rhymes & irregular line scans!

feature
1

About the Creator

Lea Springer

I'll be leaving Vocal for a while. Thank you to all for the great reads & comments on mine. I may be back this winter. Al the best to you everyone. Look for my new book "Where the Bush Planes Flew" on Amazon soon to be published.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • JBazabout a year ago

    Ha, love this, anyone who has battled the weather storms can relate.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.