Families logo

Child abuse

this is the hardest part to write

By Brandi DexterPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Child abuse
Photo by Tom Pumford on Unsplash

Nobody should go through this. My father hit me with a belt when i was 13. It's was technically child abuse.I felt upset and i had trauma and pain. I go to bed at night time. I don't care when people say I shouldn't put this up on social media because this is an experience no body should go through. It was 2011. I wish child protection services got involved. Headspace told me in 2016.No legal action was taken people don't know what it feels like because you have never experienced it. Psychology effects into adulthood can be harming.

It gives me anxiety interacting with men at my fathers age.It's shocking half of the adults at my parents age have a lack of empathy when it comes to this situation.I was forced to go to a new school againist my wishes and i was taken away from my mother.I felt abondoned and i started to get more needy.I felt unloved.I did not want to go school down there in Wollongong and my dad abused me for it.

I do recall him forcing me to get changed and he saw me naked.To force me to go to a certain school when i did not . He pulled me out of my bed and had physical force to make me get changed.

Pouring a bucket in the shower when i was naked with new body blomissing into puberty.He opened the door.

On that day. I was in my room. It was november 2011 , my dad pushed me against the matteress on the wall.My dad started grabbing me and started hitting me with his belt.I was screaming so loud and he closed my mouth with my hand to make sure no one downstairs in his buisness heard it.

He continued to hit me , he did not stop for the entire day and locked my bedroom door.He continued without knowing

It was digusting and my mum could of got the police involved.But no empathy.Just a little understanding.But legally , i think it it does not matter because corporal punishment is legal in Australia. It causes so many mixed opinions.

I am angry in Australia that corporal punishment is legal.Spanking can lead to relationship violence after the corporal punishment occurs.It sends children the wrong message.

The child may not like being aroud you and may not know how to regulate her or his emotions.It breaks the emotional bond.

I am not to sure if i want to have children after my traumatic childhood.

I did not understand how my mum would want to interact with my dad on that level after that.

I wanted to stay with other people not my father.When my mum left me for self absorbed trips. I was traumatized about the child abuse.I did not like staying with him much.I was punished for it with a lack of empathy.

My dad was playing the role of a decent fantastic father when he did not.He made me do stuff against my wishes and i cried because i missed my mother.

It's not punishment, it's child abuse.

Corporal punishment is not appropriate. It's not acceptable. Imagine elderly people have scars from childhood from decades again. Punishments such as removing privileges would be more appropriate.

I feel it's f****d and digusting. I am the person who will not tell parents some advice to displine children. I am not a parent myself.

I have seen an case before that a mother lost custody and sent to jail in my country Australia.Because she smacked her son with a wooden spoon after finding out her son was using her credit card on video games.Hence,this caused so many mixed opinions on the internet.The internet reacted with so many opinions. I feel they were both wrong in this situation.

The boy should'nt be using her credit card without permission.Also the mum was in the wrong using corporal punishment in this situation.

She could of punished the boy in a better way.

The court system is more strict on parents who have abled bodied children more than parents who have disabled ones.

Still my mum likes to keep postive and she does'nt want to hear about it.

I have been talking to my dad less and less. I want to keep some distance from him. To remove my body from a toxic enviroment made me more of a happier person.

With my mother not talking to my father after i turned 21 years old our relationship steadily and slowly improved.

grief
Like

About the Creator

Brandi Dexter

Writing stories is a way to express my unfiltered feelings and advice.

Animal lover

Truth Seeker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.