Families logo

Captivating Expectations

A Train Ride that Shed Old Skin

By Elizabeth CripePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Captivating Expectations
Photo by Kyle Broad on Unsplash

I was captivated by winning my parents approval; ensuring I had their undivided attention. They would have a crowd over; I would fake throwing up to ensure everyone knew I was their center of attention. The word Hate does not adequately describe how I trained my sister to think of me; from ensuring that 90% of my punishment was framed on her. I so desperately wanted to know that I was enough in my parents’ eyes. I set such high expectations of myself because I inadvertently created expectations that I was sure my parents had of me; but never voiced.

I worked hard, as an athlete trained hard; I could not fail and would not fail. I followed a path I thought would make my parents proud. Yes, along the way I would find my passions and things that brought me joy; but I never embraced them as loves of my life but instead of imaginary expectations being met.

I was living a life mixed of aiming to please my parents and finding Joy in what I had pursued as a career. I was somewhere in the middle of being a child and a woman. In this mix I was eager for a weekend away; to free myself of the constant grabbing of expectation on my soul.

A girl’s weekend was in full swing, as soon as we got to our out-of- state destination. Mid journey to freedom, for a weekend; I got a phone call. A call that my newest beau was in trouble; in fact, a dear friend of his died tragically in an accident.

Somewhere in the 8 hours of us being apart his world was flipped upside down. My sisters and my parents had very clear expectations that I should not return home and ruin our weekend plans. He was a new beau and nothing that anyone in my family would have planned, picked out or expected for me. I hesitated and wavered, do I let all the imaginary expectations I had placed on myself win and thus miss out on what could be a pivotal moment in a new budding relationship? Or do I listen to my inner voice telling me that I would fight a stampede of bulls or hitch hike the whole way home…but I must return to the arms of my newest beau…even with the pressure of very clear expectations that I would be breaking.

I did not fight a stampede of bulls, but I did harshly inform my sisters that I would not be heeding their advice and found the next train station open. I jumped on a train and returned home. The entire way knowing I had done the right thing but feeling like I had just upset the way my world had turned for its existence. To this day, I remember getting of the train and realizing that it in a very real sense felt like I had shed an old skin.

This decision was one that put me on a new path, of finding my soul in a place of seeking acceptance but desiring being content with who I was. It was one that has now created a level of health in my relationship with myself as I realize most of the expectations, I thought I had to meet growing up; were no more real that the Boogie Man or a monster in my closet.

The best man at our wedding informed me that he knew there was something special because the moment I got off the train my now husband’s demeanor completely changed and everything was okay.

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Cripe

I have lived an incredible life! I've travelled the world, was an English teacher, lived through multiple life threatening illnesses and accidents. I am the CEO of a non-profit, a mom of two amazing kids, a proud linewife and a Jesus lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.