Families logo

Callie, When We Meet Again?

The Story Of Our Missing Cat

By Amanda J MollettPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Our Beloved Callie

For our anniversary, my husband contacted his mother and told her that he wanted his cat, Callie, to be brought to me as my anniversary present. This was for our second wedding anniversary, and he could not physically be there himself therefore entrusted his mom to take care of it. (Big mistake, but whatever!)

Callie was in the care of his so-called friend Andrew and his wife Vicki for a long time. For at least a few years when he could not have her in his home. He trusted that his friend was going to take care of his pet for him until such a time he could get her back. He trusted that he would take care of Callie, however, he did not foresee him stealing his beloved pet and giving her away, and trying to keep her away from whom she belonged.

I did get to meet Callie, I got to know her for a very short time, but in that amount of time, she touched my heart. I wanted to bring her home, I wanted to rescue her. I did not believe she was in a safe and stable home. Spending time with her saved me at a time when I needed something. She made me feel close to my husband who at that time I could not even see or talk to. She made me love her as much as I knew he did.

So, when I found out what he had planned, even though it would have been better as a surprise, I was excited and surprised that he now had made this request. I could not wait to get her and did everything in my power to make sure I could have her at my place.

I had to make some things happen because I was not allowed to have pets, so I worked very hard to make sure she could come home. I could not wait to spend more time with her. I thought about all the times being around her that saved my heart, quieted my thoughts, and made me feel close to my husband.

However, when I was ready for her, and I tried to get her home. I was told I could not get her. That she was gone, she had been given away to Andrew’s daughter. And there would be no getting her back.

Just like that ... she was gone

I had brought her things she would need such as toys, food, litter, and treats. I made sure she would have a home, got all my paperwork so she would be able to be in my apartment, and I never get to have her.

It breaks my heart that I do not have her, I wish my husband had done more to try and get me our cat. I wish he had not just trusted his friend to be a friend and to take care of our pet. I wish he would not be a crappy friend who stole my husband’s cat and be someone that he really could trust as much as he trusted him with her. I wish his mom would have fought for him, but she would not. She would not stand up for us, she would not fight for him to have his cat back.

Callie is, or was, an old cat. At the time she was14 years old. This age for a cat is old, most cats do not live well past 14 years old if they make it past the age at all. So, our hope is that she lives until we can all be reunited. Now, Callie would be 17 years old.

grief
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.