Families logo

"Bub, you're my best friend."

Can your kids be your best friends?

By Dylan MillerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
"Bub, you're my best friend."
Photo by Kelli McClintock on Unsplash

"Bub, you're my best friend."

....................................................................

I distinctly remember my dad telling me this while we were driving in his black Ford truck and thinking to myself, "He's my dad...how can I be his best friend AND his son?"

I didn't know what to think and I'm not sure how I responded. I remember it having a profound impact on me, though.

Dad and I haven't always seen eye to eye. There have been times when I felt as if I fell short of who he had hoped for in a son.

I never enjoyed sports, especially basketball and football. I am terrible with cars. You don't want to see me try to work with tools. Meanwhile, my dad was a football star in high school, has worked on cars most of his life, and always had this gigantic tool cart doodad filled with gadgets I couldn't tell you how to use or even what to call them.

So when he threw around the phrase, "best friend," well, I was skeptical.

It took up until my daughter was born before I began to realize what he meant.

Now that she is two, going on three, I understand it even more. That little girl will be my best friend for life. She is the person I want to talk to and see every single day. I want to absorb all the time with her I can get (even when she is frustrating me). I want to love what she loves. I want to do what she does.

It's crazy.

I never thought I would understand what my dad meant when he told me I was his best friend. It was some strange and foreign concept which I never believed could take root in my soul the way it has. I think about it almost every day. "Man, she is my best friend. She's the best."

Now, I wonder, and recognize, how much of what I saw as glaring discrepancies between my dad and myself and how those things would always keep us from what I would call "friendship" was total garbage.

Made up by my own mind.

Interpreted through a superficial lens unable to stand outside my own perspective.

My dad played Pokemon with me.

He played soccer with me when I "played" soccer through most of elementary and middle school (always as a defender, minding my own business on the field until the last possible second).

He collected all kinds of trading cards with me. He played the same video games I did.

Maybe he would have done some or all of those whether I was engaged with them or not, but I know without any doubt he participated alongside me because I was engaging with them.

I have never been so invested in Frozen 2 or dance parties or swimming as I am with my daughter. In fact, some of those I have gone out of my way in my lifetime to make a big deal about how much I hate them! If she is into it, though, then so am I!

She is my best friend.

Dad, I finally get it.

...

I am a freelance writer with a background in Ministry and experience everywhere from technical document writing to copy writing to creative writing. I have interests and knowledge in Ministry, Marketing, Parenting, Leadership, and Technology. If you are looking for someone to work with and like what you see, then email me at [email protected] or check out my portfolio at dylmill.contently.com.

parents
1

About the Creator

Dylan Miller

Former Pastor, Father, Husband. Not necessarily in that order.

I write about many things about the human experience.

I am sometimes good. I am not always kind. I am never perfect.

In other words, I am human.

Hello.

website: dsmstoryforge.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.