Families logo

Bows or Bow Ties?

Surprise!

By Not ImportantPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Waiting is always the hardest part when anticipating anything exciting! In this case, I've been waiting 20 weeks to find out whether or not I'm having a baby boy or a baby girl. Of course, all my friends and family have been making their predictions, and everyone wants to know what I'm hoping for. Like most new moms, I just want a healthy, happy baby. Boy or girl, I have no preference.

However, the odd thing is, ever since I found out I am pregnant, I have had this feeling that it's a boy. I don't know if that's me internally wishing for a boy or just a mother's instinct. Either way, my husband and I have names picked out for either gender.

We immediately landed on the name Constance for a girl, after my late mother-in-law. As for choosing a boy’s name, I stumbled across the perfect one later.

I was doing a little research one day, trying to randomly track down an obituary of my mother's old landlord. Odd, yes, although I grew up very fond of this elderly man. At the time, he owned a dairy farm off Avondale Rd in Redmond, WA. My parents lived in a house they rented right next door from him on his farm. He was very much like a grandfather to me. Unfortunately, I only ever knew him by his last name, and so did my parents. Mr. Eney and his wife, Rose, were really all I had to go off of. Tracking him down with such little information was quite the challenge. Nothing I wasn't determined to solve, and that I did!

Hours of obituaries later and then there it was! Chills ran up my spine as I read his full name. Then and there I knew, if I was having a baby boy, I wanted to do the honors of naming him after Mr. Eney. So with that mumble jumble said, I bet you're dying to know what it is! Okay, I won't keep you in suspense any longer. We have decided Ellwood would be very suiting if we have a baby boy.

So week 20 has arrived and I am on the way to the tech lab to get my ultrasound done. I explain to the nurse that I don't want to know the gender because we are having a surprise party.

Like a secret spy on a mission, I scurried off to my sister's work. I handed her the piece of paper containing such delicate information. I was leaving my sister completely in charge of everything—the cake, decorations, food, location, etc. I wanted to be utterly surprised.

The date was set. A small family gathering came to support and celebrate the gender reveal. The bakery had done a stunning job creating my cake. Beautifully made, designed to resemble that of a pregnant belly.

Before I cut into it, leaving everyone on the edge of their seats, we all grabbed a pair of colored glasses off the table, guessing for either TEAM GIRL or TEAM BOY. As my sister pressed record on the camera, I began to cut the cake. Noticing the knife had colored frosting on it, I continued to cut a slice out so everyone could see. Plain as day, BLUE, was in the center of the cake. WE'RE HAVING A BOY!

Leaps of joy and hugs made their way around the room. Smiling infectiously, I gazed down at my now protruding stomach. While the wait isn't over, I am excited to start shopping for baby stuff! "Finally," I said under my breath, I can determine the life growing inside of me. Last but not least, my husband and I can start calling him Ellwood.

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Not Important

Just Stories for the grandkids....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.