Families logo

Black Pearl

Childhood Dreams

By Linda N Steve BrownPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Legend of the Black Pearl

I was born in the backwoods of the Blue Ridge Mountains. My family was poor but never without the basics. Daddy worked underground and loved us dearly. He would get up before day break and work in the fields and then he would put on his old mining hat and his worn out coveralls and go to the mines. He would walk through our small town and go to the drift mouth and start his day. My Mommy would already have her day planned. She had already cooked for eight of us and started the washing. Before the light of day she sat at the kitchen table and read her Bible and said her prayers for all of us. She would mention each one of us by name and ask for a blessing for each of us. I know it was hard for her but she did this every day that I can remember.

The years passed all too quickly and she and Daddy passed on leaving much sadness. As I helped go through their belongings I noticed a plain suit case among her treasures. She always had a small suit case that she called her safe place. As I opened it I could not help but cry. There was an ugly valentine I made her when I was in the first grade I was so proud of it and so was she. I did not know that she had kept it. There were various pictures of each of us because my daddy loved taking pictures. She had old post cards and letters written over the years by each of us as we moved away to make our own adventures. At the very bottom of the case was a small black book wrapped in a silk pillow case. The cover was worn because she had held it a lot and written on every page was a history of her life. I never knew she had so much sadness in her life. I was too busy growing up and doing what children do.

As I started to read the pages seem to come alive and I could her voice as she wrote the accounts of the day. I never knew she thought of us in that way. There were pages of the births of my sisters and my brother and how she loved us. I could see her smiling as she wrote some of the accounts especially the births of her grand children. As I turned the pages they came alive once more with her sweet words. She would always say we were more valuable than gold and no amount of money could replace us. But some where along the way I noticed a great weight in her words. She worried that we all would be alone and she would not be there. I could feel her sadness as I read her words. Some of the pages has blurs in the words I assumed they were her tears.

As I neared the end of the book her tone changed and she began to write about how she wanted to care for each of us. There were papers with different amounts of money that had been deposited at her bank in each of our names. As I looked at the numerous pages of deposits I realized how she must have done without to do this loving thing for each of us. She had grouped the papers by each of our names. As I looked through the names I saw that mine was last. I was the oldest but she had put mine last. I read on to see why she saved me for last.

She had loved each of us dearly and wanted to take care of us even though she could not be there physically. As I searched for my name she wrote I leave to my oldest daughter this Black Pearl. I never knew what a Black Pearl was until now. She had spoke of her treasure often but never mentioned what it was. This gift I have saved for you and I want you to take it to a bank and cash it in. I just could not look on it with out crying. She had given others money but me she wanted to have her greatest treasure a single Black Pearl. She wrote it has been with me long enough and I want you to have it. Do not keep it take it somewhere and turn it into money. Let someone else enjoy it's beauty and you have the money. I did not want to do as she asked but I could see her face and I knew I had to do what she asked.

I took the small Black Pearl from the black book and I turned it over to the bank. They were amazed at the perfect shape of it. It had great value in money but more to me in love. They paid me and I put it in the bank and invested it . Because of her I have a good place to live and a good income. Because of the Black Book and it's treasure of the Black Pearl that she left to me I see her face in everything I do. I dedicate this story to my loving wonderful Mother.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.