Families logo

Biography

Angiediazcervo

By Marie A. Diaz-CervoPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

My name is Marie A. Diaz-Cervo and I was born on the 18th of November, 1965 in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. I am the daughter of Haitian/Cuban sailor Anthony Salomon of Les Cayes and of Ghislene Moise of Benet, Haiti. I am a seamstress. The Salomon descent from Haitian President Lysius Felicite Salomon and The Diaz-Cervo family has a long, established history in New Jersey, dating back to 1996. My father died at the age of 43 in 1972 from pneumonia, which was also the likely result from a cold he caught overseas. I had a happy, normal childhood as an older child, leaving me somewhat spoiled. My mom remarried after ten years. My mom would marry two more times. My mother's last husband was Andre, he became a big part of my life and I maintained close contact with him until his death in 2014. Growing up without my birth father impacted me greatly and left me with issues of abandonment and low self esteem. I got over being timid by being a runway model for different Colleges and Church. My mother left to make a better life for us in USA, her older brother Elias Moise came to USA with a company and they give him the opportunity to get his green card, then after five years in America he became an American Citizen which gave him the advantage to sent for his brothers and sisters to come to USA. Each of them worked hard for five years and became American citizens. My mother worked hard for me to have the best education at the prestigious Gerard Gourge Preparatory School. I migrated to the states at the early age of fifteen with her three sisters Rith Rosario, Marthe, Dany and two brothers and Remps. I continued on to Erasmus Hall High School in Brooklyn, NY then attended Essex County College and St. Peter's College where I graduated in 1991, with an AAS in Arts and science. My working career started as a sales person at Valley Fair then I worked at Food town, Karen’s Curtain, Burger Kings when I was still in High School. After I earned an associate degree in Arts and Science and get my license in Radiology Technology after graduation I worked at Christ Hospital in Jersey City, New Jersey for two years and Union Hospital in Union, New Jersey for seven years. I also worked for Dr. Botwin and Innella for about one year part-time. While working in the operating room at Christ hospital a nurse mentioned to me that my neck was too big and I should go see an Endocrinologist. I found out that I had hyperthyroidism, I understood that was the reasons for my fatigue, sweaty feet, palpitation and mood swing. Soon after I met my ex husband Jose Diaz-Cervo at Union Hospital in the Radiology Department, both of us worked there. Jose and I got married in 1995; I became mother to his two children Daniel 4 1/2 and Kassandra 2 1/2 years old from a previous marriage. Due to complication from my thyroid surgery, I was informing by my doctor that I may not be able to have children. Eventually Jose Diaz-Cervo and I have two children of our own. Prior to that him and I had a partnership with Bushido Karate in East Hanover. As a businesswoman I co-founded DiCervo's Inc/Kingdom Karate World Group LLC. Which expand into several facilities and many black belts? We owned vending routes in New Jersey for about two years then we sold the route to run the Karate school full-time. I established and maintained positive relationships with parents, and students. I helped to established expansion into several locations by recruited as many as 30 new clients per month. I developed and managed working staffs and graduated several black belts. I helped the team to generated sales per month and developed and implemented plans to encourage student participation. I implement and managed the development and maintenance of Summer Camp at the center. I carried out weekly treatment meetings and ensured clients are progressing. I did advertising and social Media outreach on networks such as Facebook, Twitter, etc. I promoted private sales & monthly events. I builded relationships with bloggers & online publishers. I used database management to track social media & marketing progress. I implemented various projects related to merchandising & item processing. A friend of my ex-husband recruited him in a financial business and as his wife I had to get involved somehow to work as a team. We worked hard days and late nights to propel the business. We got promoted to Regional Vice-President in Primerica in 2004. In 2006 life became unbearable for me, my marriage was falling apart, my health deteriorated with hemorrhage. I used my knowledge within the field to develop my skills as a Haitian American author. My first book entitled My Grateful Book from Dorance Publishing is a direct result of my hard work as well as life experiences. Unfortunately I got divorced after thirteen years of marriage and it was not a friendly separation. I share my passion for writing by blogging about certain topics and issues which have an impact on my social life. In my leisure time, some of my activities include fashion, traveling, reading and writing as well as staying fit. I am a social butterfly. To reach my goal I have a set time to start the assignment around a learning environment, therefore the distractions will be minimal. I am committed to managing my time so I can achieve great results. I believe that I can succeed and overcome the obstacles in my life. I used my phone calendar to keep track of scheduled events and it sent me reminders. Radiology technologist while working for Union hospital in 1996, DiCervo’s Karate & kickboxing were established and changed to Kingdom Karate World Group LLC and the rest is history. With hard work and an impeccable work ethic, I quickly propelled DiCervo's Inc into a thriving business. My intimate knowledge of the business community and geography of New Jersey make me one of the most qualified Program Directors. After my divorce and illness from thyroid disorder, I now work as an ABA paraprofessional and substitute teacher for special needs children. My success comes naturally from my creativity, a passion for people and my personality described as a social butterfly. I wear different hats in my life because my life is divided into several categories. I am a creative person and my friend advised me that I work well under pressure. I enjoy the chaos in my life most of the time. I'm comfortable being a mother and I am successful at it. I was well connected in the business community, I instilled confidence in people, and they knew they would always get a straight answer from me. In December 2009 I got divorced from my husband of fourteen years and the corporation. My next journey continues with blogging at Fan box then I became a success coach there. I also work as a substitute teacher and currently continuing my education at University Of Phoenix. Over 6 years ago, I had a catalyst event that transformed my life. Although it took me some time to come to grips with some of the challenges I was faced with at the time, I realized that I love people; and making a positive difference in their lives is where I get my rewards and satisfaction. I've had wonderful opportunities to meet and maintain friendships with some of the most educated and wonderful people. Time and time again, I'm taught that wisdom, understanding, empowerment, commitment and success come from the passion within you and the people in our lives. I wear different hats in my life because my life is divided into several categories. I am a creative person and my friend advised me that I work well under pressure. I enjoy the chaos in my life most of the time. I'm comfortable being a mother, and an ABA therapist and I am successful at it. I will close out this autobiography with the most important thing in my life, my children and my family. I am in a wonderful relationship and we plan on getting married in two years. I cannot have any more children but we can adopt or be foster parents if we like.

divorced
Like

About the Creator

Marie A. Diaz-Cervo

I am from Brooklyn, NYC. Graduated with degree in Applied Behavioral Sciences My daughter is an entrepreneur, and my son is a model at Presence Model Management and an MMA fighter, and they are both black belts in Shotokan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.