Families logo

Beyond Time

A lonely doctor and a scheming family.

By April PerezPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Beyond Time
Photo by Ignacio Correia on Unsplash

Around 5:00AM every day, on the dot, the Elderly of Armada Park would gather in the gardens, feeding cooing pigeons as their avian friends too settled there amongst patches of sprouted wild grain. However, there was one noticeable woman there today that did not particularly fit in with the usual park goers.

A woman wearing a white coat, chestnut brown hair unkempt, revealing her relaxed and approachable nature.

In her eyes was a twinkle that signaled she was overseer for the Elderly that would routinely visit the park if her coat did not give that away.

“Hey, Lady.” A voice called from a distance. Sounds of footsteps clacking against the pavement disquieted the pigeons, causing the flock to flee. Walking in closer with a loud, pompous stride made the woman quite startled.

A five o’ clock shadow, dark sunken eye bags as sunken as ships taken out by storm, and bloodshot red eyes with pungent, overwhelming scents of cigarette on his coat repulsed the doctor.

“Can’t you hear, Miss Doctor Lady? I was calling from a mile away and you got your nose so busy in your…whatever it-"

“Miss Adalyn…” She interjected. “And no, I did not hear, the park is only open to- “

“Residents of Armada Care, I know.” The man snorted.

“It’s Miss Adalyn and yes, you’d be correct. It’s strictly residential. Kindly, make your way off the premises.”

Adalyn was a kind woman, very patient. This man, however, seemed trouble.

With quick movement, the peculiar man adjusted his brown Ben Hogan cap, revealing his dark black hair riddled with clumps of clear hair gel.

“I’m here for assistance…putting a member of my own into your care.”

“The minimum age requirement is forty-five. If they are close in range, say forty-four ongoing forty-five in the next few months, we can start the application process and admit them within the year.”

“Here’s my card,” she finished while handing it to the off-putting man. “Your name, sir?”

“Garibaldi Edwards…”

He seemed to not be paying attention solely focused on eyeing the doctor slowly, “You’re quite attractive. Fancy a date?”

The brunette laughed and packed her things. “Quite busy during the month of August, Mr. Edwards.”

“September, then?”

“No, even then I’m quite confined by work. You must understand I am a doctor, especially one of a facility for the mentally unwell. I’ve not time for such things.”

“I’ll be waiting for you to call me then, after all I have got lots of money to take care of you, sweetie. I’m filthy, stinking rich.”

Adalyn lifted her lavish Louis Vuitton 1920s Navy Black Weekend suitcase and with a sharp clasp, turned her way back to the facility with an air of indifference. “Call me when you’re ready to discuss admission requests,” and with that she was gone.

Garibaldi was bothered.

Who does she think she is? He thought. She will be begging for me next time I call her, my charms just taking a while to kick in. That’s what it is.

He certainly did not like the outcome. Kicking and huffing his way across the park, he dragged his feet back to his 1956 Ambassador, slamming the door shut. The little ambassador shook and trembled with smog all the way down the street as he made his way home.

Back inside the residential care facility, Doctor Adalyn let her hair down and rubbed her hands into the side of her temples. She let out a sigh and sat herself at the front office.

The inside of the building was a simple tan color with a darker wooden flooring. There were paintings of flowers and pictures of staff. Small little decorations like snow-globes and vases were placed around the facility to make it more welcoming.

It was a cozy place, with few workers but still bustling with tasks, nonetheless.

“Good morning, Doctor Ada. You seem to be stressed out?”

Lidia McBride.

“Oh, you know...it’s just mosquito season.” Leaning back on the office chair, Dr. Adalyn swiveled to face Lidia.

“I’ve been meaning to ask, where is your necklace from?” Lidia said as she turned to her paperwork with curiosity.

“It’s from…a loved one. I have not taken it since gifted. Why, It’s the only thing left of anything from my family.”

“Perhaps- “Lidia spoke up.

With an immediate response, Ada slipped her coat off and placed it upon a nearby rack.

“I do remember you asked for a day off on August 25th, which is in two days. Sarah is going to cover your hours, so you are free to take the day off. However, I must let you know requesting a day off when you have only been here less than two weeks is not ideal, but I don’t want you to miss such an important get-together.”

Ada closed her eyes, momentarily. “I know what it is to lose someone you love.”

“I am deeply sorry, Miss Adalyn. I would not miss my family gathering for the world. It is the day we memorialize the passing of my sister. Honest to Gods, I miss her so dearly. Thank you very much.”

Lidia wiped the tears from her eyes and excused herself from the desk.

Ring! Ring! Ring! Ring! Rin-

“Hello, you are calling the Armada Elderly Health facility on 42385 Marmosa Drive. Doctor Adalyn Chlebek speaking.”

“Ah, Miss Lady, didn’t know you were so eager and waiting for me by the phone. Shouldn’t the receptionist be up there?”

Adalyn took a breath. “Are you calling about the patient admission?”

“Sure thing, but I wanna talk about yo- “

CRASH!

Loud bangs echoed through the phone; it might have been a cause for concern, but Adalyn brushed it off as tomfoolery. “Mr. Edwards- “

“I am inclined to believe you are the doctor that the dullard was speaking with.”

The voice on the telephone was deep, eloquent, and captivating. It was not the annoying, semi squeaky voice of Edwards.

“This is Doctor Chlebek. Are you interested in admission?”

“I am admitting. I, unfortunately, do not have any way to access his records or birth certificates on hand or his information.”

“Excuse me?” Adalyn asked, dumbfounded in a mixture of shock with no slip in her voice to convey otherwise. “Could you repeat that, sir?”

“Well, you see a few years ago, in Poland the office that held his records was burnt down. We come from a rural area, so his records are unavailable. He is currently forty-three, however.”

“My condolences. The facility makes no exceptions, if you wanted to admit someone before the minimum age, you would need to take the issue down with the board of directors. They might favor to rescind the rule. I know you really need this as there are not many facilities around except for another four-day journey. We can try to make a case with whatever you can compile in a folder, leave it for me as of today at 4:00 o’ clock exact.”

“Perfect,” muttered the voice. “The name is Charles Bovey Edwards. I’ll be sending it soon, Doctor.”

A Half Hour Later, once Adalyn had finished her meeting, she sat in her office alone. The clocks around her ticked and chimed, they were the only things she could hear besides her breathing.

“John Vickerman is doing well; his depression seems to be easing now that he has a caretaker to spend time with him. It seems the daily park interactions with friends is also doing well,” she noted upon looking at a crème-colored envelope.

She reached and placed a stack of paperwork onto her desk.

“Penelope Klatches needs a referral to see a massage therapist, I have to remember to send a stipend on behalf of the Armada facility’s financial program…”

She sat and trailed off, looking at her reflection in the window.

“I don’t want to be alone…”

A single tear slipped from her face as she curled up and began succumbing to blissful sleep.

“Mama, Papa?” A young Adalyn called as she ran around her home.

“Oh, dear. Little Ada, I had a scare. You were romping in the garden with the family tortoise, Harold, now I see you are here safe. I was worried you were hurt, or even stolen!” An older man chastised as he lifted her with ease.

“Where is Mama and Papa, Grandad?” Adalyn looked up with tears welling.

“Well…they went on a trip, for a really long time, dear. They will be so busy they cannot see you. But do not worry I will be here always, my darling pumpkin.”

“Really Grand Papa?”

“Yes, darling. Here, have this,” He continued gingerly as he clasped a necklace of a little black book around her neck. On it was a tiny golden lock.

“I will always have this pick,” He pointed to a small golden key on his necklace. “It’s our proof that we are two pieces to one puzzle, and I will never leave you.”

“It’s beautiful, Grandpa!” Ada smiled as she ran off out of his arms to go play.

When the dream was over Doctor Chlebek slumped in her chair staring at the ceiling. She did not know how long she stared, silently.

Hours passed and still Clutching her locket, A bitter guilt and loneliness ate away at her.

“It’s my fault…”

TWO DAYS LATER

The fading sound of a record played as the Edwards laughed and popped their cider bottles, leaving a flowing mess of foam across the dining hall.

“The Edwards family will be rich, with that old fool we found on the street, of course. He’s the ticket to luxury, baby!” Garibaldi whooped.

“Good thing Doc accepted the documents. Got them all prettied up for the board of directors. Course, Lidia’s many rendezvous with the main head helped us, too.”

Charles grinned ear to ear with Lidia cackling wildly.

“The only thing left is to admit him tomorrow and the money will be ours. Just keep him locked in that room.”

“How do we know he won’t snitch on us later?”

“Lidia will be our eyes, of course.”

The next day in the park, Adalyn sat waiting for the Edwards to appear.

She planned to assess her new patient in the garden.

In the distance, she saw them approaching.

“Hello there, Charles. Is this the man you’re admitting?”

“Yes, you know he’s a maladaptive day dreamer.”

Edwards grinned. “Never gets out his foggy old head, can we go finish the paperwork?”

“Certainly, once I ask him a few questions, privately. Refreshments are inside.”

Once they left Adalyn noticed the older man staring at her necklace.

“Who gave you this?”

“My grandfather.”

“I…” he muttered with a dry cough. His hand reached inside his shirt and held out a golden key.

“Grand Papa?” she whispered.

“My darling Pumpkin,” he whispered while hugging her. “It’s you…”

Adalyn began to sob and tightly held onto her grandfather; her hands locked behind his back firmly. “I’m so sorry…I lost you. I left the door open-”

“It wasn’t your fault, dear. You were a child! But now we have bigger mosquitoes to squash.”

At the end of the day, Adalyn sat with her grandfather laughing as they recalled the ruckus when the Edwards were arrested.

“Fools,” Adalyn scoffed.

“They found me…” The fragile man began. “While I was wandering in the streets during one of my daydreaming episodes. They locked me up in the basement, wanted the inheritance.”

“Oh, grandfather!” Adalyn held him close. “You are safe now.”

“I'm okay, dear…You will be given the legacy. It is from your parents, twenty thousand dollars, dear. I saved it all these years.”

She shook her head.

“You are my legacy.”

Adalyn leaned in, brushing her forehead against her dearest love and lifting his key unlocked the notebook on her chest.

She reminisced as the words gazed upon her heart.

In tiny writing, “Love withstands sea, heat, scorch and ice. Love withstands the test of time. Where love is, you will find life.”

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.