Families logo

Becoming a Part of the Rutter Family

This is our story

By Alexis BellawPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
This isn't even half of them.

I want to start out by mentioning that I met my boyfriend while I was pregnant with my daughter over a year ago. I never thought we would be in the place we are now, but I am so thankful that we are.

I started a new job working for a truck stop while I was 20 weeks pregnant with my first daughter. Her father and I were having issues, and by the time my daughter was 4 months old I had left him. He still gets our daughter and is still a part of her life, but that is a whole other story.

My boyfriend and I were coworkers and it blossomed into a friendship. There is an age gap between us, so the thought it would ever be anything more didn't cross our minds. We were wrong, but that is also a whole other story that I might share at a later date.

Fast forward to July 1st, 2020. I had just moved into my apartment and my boyfriend and I were talking, but hadn't made it official yet. He started coming over quite often until one day he never left and we made it official.

He has helped me take care of my daughter like she was his own. He also has two other biological kids and another who he claims as his own even though she isn't. His kids are 22, 18, and 16. We are also adding another one into the mix. I am currently 21 weeks pregnant with another little girl.

We are beyond excited. My daughter even seems excited and seems to understand when mommy mentions her baby sister. She'll hug my bump and give it kisses. She's currently a little over a year old. We all can't wait for baby girl to get here!

So, let me shine a little bit of insight that I didn't mention before. My boyfriend is 42 and I am 20. That's a 21 year age difference between us. Neither of us was okay with it at first, but eventually we realized that it didn't matter because we were both happy.

We were together 6 months before we found out I was pregnant. I took a test on December 17th, 2020 to reveal a positive test. I came out of his sister's bathroom and tossed the test on the table. My boyfriend glanced at it, turned to me with the biggest smile on his face. He followed with "you're pregnant," in excitement. I nodded yes and he picked me up with the biggest hug he could give.

We've also talked about marriage already. Most might say it's too early, but it doesn't take years to know if you want to spend the rest of your life with someone. He's treated me better these past 8 months better than my ex did in 3 years. Granted, he hasn't officially proposed yet, but we've talked about it and we both know that we both want it sometime in the future. I tell him all the time that I would love to take his last name.

Basically what I want you to take away from the beginning of our journey is that you can find happiness in things you'd never expect. Don't settle for those that tear you down more than they bring you up. The right person will come along and you'll start blossoming.

By Denise Jones on Unsplash

humanity
1

About the Creator

Alexis Bellaw

20-year-old momma of two precious little girls writing my feelings out and publishing them to you. I hope you enjoy my content!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.